Government of Andhra Pradesh

As any other state under the constitution of India, the Andhra Pradesh Government has a basic structure which is headed by the Chief Minister and governed by the Governor. The present Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh is Mr. Rajasekhar Reddy and the present Governor is Mr. Rameshwar Thakur. The ministers under the present Andhra Pradesh government and their responsibilities are:
  • Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy,
  • Hon'ble Chief Minister, Minister For Sports and Culture and Cinematography
  • Sri Lakshminarayana Kanna
  • Minister for Cooperation and Transport
  • Sri Ponnala Lakshmaiah
  • Minister for Major Irrigation and Medium Irrigation
  • Sri K.Jana Reddy
  • Minister for Home,Jails,Fire Service,Sainik Welfare and Housing
  • Dr. Geeta Reddy.J
  • Minister for Tourism,Sugar and Major Industries,Commerce and Export Promotion
  • Sri Mohammed Fareeduddin
  • Minister for Minorities Welfare,Wakf Urdu Academy, Fisheries and Public Enterprises
  • Sri J.C.Diwakar Reddy
  • Minister for Panchayati Raj and Endowments
  • Sri Radya Naik Dharmsoth
  • Minister for Socil Welfare and Tribal Welfare
  • Sri Shabbir Ali Mohd
  • Minister for Information and Public Relation, Energy and Coal
  • Sri D.Prasada Rao
  • Minister for Revenue,Relief&Rehabilitation and Youth Services
  • Sri Konathala Ramakrishna
  • Minister for Commercial Taxes and Excise and Prohibition, Law and Courts
  • Sri Rosaiah Konejeti
  • Minister for Finance, Planning, Small Savings, Lotteries, Legislative Affairs, Health, Medical and Family Welfare
  • Smt Rajyalakshmi Nedurumalli
  • Minister for School Education, Adult Education, Libraries, Archeology Museums and Archives, Women Development & Child Welfare and Disabled Welfare
  • Smt P.Sabitha Reddy
  • Minister for Mines and Geology,Investment and IT
  • Sri Pinnamaneni Venkateswara Rao
  • Minister for Higher Education and Technical Education & Industrial Training Institute
  • Sri Gollapalli Surya Rao
  • Minister for Animal Husbandry&Dairy Development,Warehousing
  • Sri D. Srinivas
  • Minister for Rural Development, Rural Water Supply, Employment generation, B.C Welfare and Urban Land Ceiling
  • Sri B Satyanarayana
  • Minister for Marketing
  • Sri Koneru Ranga Rao
  • Minister for Municipal Administration,Urban Development and Sericulture
  • Sri Jakkampudi Ramamohana Rao
  • Minister for Roads and Buildings and Ports
  • Sri N.Raghuveera Reddy
  • Minister For Agriculture and Horticulture,Food,Civil Supplies,Legal Metrology and Consumer Affairs
  • Sri G.Vinod
  • Minister for Labour & Employement, Handlooms & Textiles, Spinning Mills K and VIB
  • Sri Vijayarama Raju Satrucharla
  • Minister for Forest,Environment,Science and Technology and Minor Irrigation
  • Sri M.Mareppa
  • Minister for Lift Irrigation, APIDC, Ground Water Dev elopement and Rain Shadow Area Dev elopement and Printing and Stationery
The list of the important government departments are as follows:
  • Agriculture Department
  • Chief Commissioner of Land Administration, Revenue Department
  • Commercial Taxes Department
  • Crime Investigation Department
  • Information Technology and Communications Department
  • Police Department
  • Public Enterprises Department
  • Roads and Buildings Department
  • Tourism Department
  • Transport Department
  • Tribal Welfare Department
  • Forest Department
  • General Administration Department
  • Horticulture Department
  • Industries Department

By municipal administration, we generally refer to the local governing bodies which are accountable for the overall planning as well as development of a town or a city. Headed by a representative, who is elected by the residents of the respective city or town, such administrative bodies are a part of the government of the respective states.

Municipal Administration in Andhra Pradesh

Similar to the other municipal administrations of the different states of the country, the municipal administrations of this state of south India are even responsible for the development of the dedicated urban region. Such municipal administrations can be of either of the following kinds:

  • Governing boards
  • Development authorities
  • Municipal corporations

About Local Self Government in Andhra Pradesh

Such a form of government had its origination from the Anglo - Saxons. It is a kind of public administration, where a community is formed by the residents of a particular territory. However, this public administrational form necessitates recognition by the Government of India as well as requires a specified legal status. To be precise, it is a government body, which comprises of the elected local representatives and is formed so as to manage the local affairs.

The state of Andhra Pradesh, which is located on the south east coast of the peninsular India, like the other states of the country, even includes local self governments within its state government. These regional self governments look after the development of the state. Apart from implementing different kinds of governmental as well as non-governmental projects, they are even responsible for maintaining a balance in between the development in the rural and the urban areas of this state of south India.

The local self government of this state can broadly be categorized into the 2 following types:

Municipal Administration
Panchayat Raj

Andhra Pradesh Government Departments

The entire government of the state is sub-divided into several departments and institutions so as to smoothen the state related affairs. Following are the names of the different departments of the Government of Andhra Pradesh:

  • Department of Agriculture and Co-operation
  • Department of Animal Husbandry and Fisheries
  • Department of Backward Classes Welfare
  • Department of Consumer Affairs, Food and Civil Supplies
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Environment, Forests, Science and Technology
  • Department of Finance
  • Department of Finance (P. M. U.)
  • Department of Finance (Project Wing)
  • Department of General Administration
  • Department of Health, Medical and Family Welfare
  • Department of Higher Education
  • Department of Home
  • Department of Housing
  • Department of Industries and Commerce
  • Department of Information Technology and Communications
  • Department of Infrastructure and Investment
  • Department of Irrigation
  • Department of Labor, Employment Training and Factories
  • Department of Law
  • Department of Minorities Welfare
  • Department of Municipal Administration and Urban Development
  • Department of Panchayat Raj and Rural Development
  • Department of Planning
  • Department of Public Enterprises
  • Department of Rain Shadow Areas Development
  • Department of Revenue
  • Department of School Education (S. E. Wing)
  • Department of School Education (S. S. A. Wing)
  • Department of Social Welfare
  • Department of Transport, Roads and Buildings
  • Department of Women Development, Child Welfare and Disabled Welfare
  • Department of Youth Advancement, Tourism and Culture
Last Updated on 20 June 2013