Ministry of Commerce and Industry

Honorable Minister Shri Kamal Nath heads the Ministry of Commerce and Industry. The ministry comprises of two departments- Department of Commerce and Department of Industrial and Policy Promotion. The two departments function for betterment of the country's economic growth.

The Department of Commerce is handled by a Secretary. Three Additional Secretaries, ten Joint Secretaries and Joint Secretary level officers assist the Secretary. The Department of Commerce not only formulates and implements the Foreign Trade Policies but also sees to the bilateral and multilateral commercial relations. The department also handles matters relating to export promotion measures and development, state trading and regulation of export oriented industries and commodities.

The Department of Commerce is divided into eight functional divisions:
  1. Administrative and General Division
  2. Economic Division
  3. Foreign Trade Territorial Division
  4. Finance Division
  5. Trade Policy Division
  6. Supply Division
  7. State Trading and Infrastructure Division
  8. Plantation Division

The Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion was founded in the year 1995 by merging Department of Industrial Development. The department is entrusted with the following responsibilities:
  1. Formulating Foreign Direct Investment policies and seeing to its promotion, approval and facilitation
  2. Administration of Industries (Development and Regulation) Act, 1951
  3. Focusing on the productivity, quality and technical cooperation
  4. Encouraging foreign technology collaborations at enterprise level and making policies for the same
  5. Making and implementing industrial policies and strategies for industrial development at par with the other developmental needs and national objectives
  6. Advising and monitoring the growth of industries in general

The ministry is encompassed within the Central Government Ministries- India. Ministry of Commerce and Industry is entrusted with the responsibility of developing and promoting industrial growth thus shaping a better future.

The various offices, through which the Ministry of Commerce and Industry functions, are mentioned below:
  1. Office of the Economic Adviser
  2. Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT)
  3. Office of the Controller General of Patents, Designs and Trade Marks (CGPDTM)
  4. Directorate General of Commercial Intelligence and Statistics (DGCI&S)
  5. Department of Explosives
  6. Special Economic Zones
  7. Directorate General of Supplies and Disposals (DGS&D)

There are several boards, commissions and councils, which help in the procedure of the Ministry of Commerce and Industry. These are:
  1. Rubber Board, India
  2. Engineering Export Promotion Council (EEPC)
  3. Coffee Board, India
  4. National Manufacturing Competitiveness Council (NMCC)
  5. Tobacco Board, India
  6. Export Inspection Council (EIC)
  7. Spices Board, India
  8. Tariff Commission
  9. Council for Leather Exports
  10. Basic Chemicals, Pharmaceuticals and Cosmetics Export Promotion Council (CHEMEXCIL)
  11. Sports Goods Export Promotion Council (SGEPC)
  12. Intellectual Property Appellate Board (IPAB)
  13. Gem and Jewellery Export Promotion Council (GJEPC)
  14. Cashew Export Promotion Council of India (CEPCI)
  15. Plastics Export Promotion Council (PLEXCONCIL)
  16. Chemical and Allied Products Export Promotion Council (CAPEXIL)
  17. Project Exports Promotion Council of India (PEPC)

Some of the autonomous bodies, which are under direct control of the ministry, are:
  1. Federation of Indian Export Organisations (FIEO)
  2. Agricultural and Processed Food Products Export Development Authority (APEDA)
  3. Indian Institute of Packaging
  4. National Numbering Organisation (EAN-India)
  5. Indian Rubber Manufacturers Research Association (IRMRA)
  6. National Institute of Design (NID)
  7. Indian Institute of Foreign Trade (IIFT)
  8. Marine Products Export Development Authority (MPEDA)
  9. Indian Diamond Institute

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012