Ministry of Environment and Forests

Ministry of Environment and Forests is responsible for planning and implementation of various environmental programs. The Ministry of Environment is currently headed by the Honorable Minister Shri Sevugan Regupathy.

The Ministry of Environment and Forests undertakes various programs related to the creation, processing and implementation of forestry and other green activities. The Ministry is also a nodal agency which works for the United Nations Environment Program or UNEP. The Ministry conducts comprehensive surveys, green regeneration techniques, external agency support and pollution control program.

The prime objective of this Ministry of Indian Government is to conserve the natural resources of environment such as forests by reducing the degradation of the same. Some of the important functions that are performed by the Ministry to achieve this objective are:
  • Checking the pollution of the environment
  • Conserving and surveying the flora, fauna, wildlife and forests
  • Afforestation and regeneration of degraded forest zone

All the functions and duties of the Indian Ministry of Environment and Forests are carried out through its various divisions. These divisions are:
  1. Environmental Information
  2. Animal Welfare
  3. Control of Pollution
  4. Ozone Cell
  5. Wildlife
  6. Integrated Finance
  7. Budget and Accounts
  8. Plan Coordination
  9. Policy & Law
  10. Forest Conservation
  11. Clean Technology
  12. Environmental Impact Assessment
  13. Forest Protection
  14. International Cooperation and Sustainable Development
  15. Project Tiger
  16. Internal Work Study Unit
  17. Survey & Utilization
  18. General Co-ordination, Protocol & Parliament
  19. Wildlife
  20. Environment Research
  21. Research & Training
  22. Plan Coordination
  23. General Administration & Grievances Cell
  24. Project Elephant
  25. Civil Construction Unit
  26. National Afforestation & Eco-Development Board
  27. Forest Services
  28. Forest Conservation
  29. Environment Education
  30. Environment Information System
  31. Hazardous Substances Management
  32. Plan Coordination
  33. Protocol on Biosafety
  34. Environment Research
  35. Environment Information
  36. Biological Diversity
The Indian Ministry of Environment and Forests has a number of subsidiary government bodies reporting to it. The list of subordinate offices is as follows:
  1. Directorate of Forest Education (DFE), Dehradun
  2. Indira Gandhi National Forest Academy (IGNFA), Dehradun
  3. National Zoological Park (NZP), New Delhi
  4. Botanical Survey of India (BSI) Kolkata,
  5. Forest Survey of India (FSI), Dehradun
  6. National Museum of Natural History (NMNH), New Delhi
  7. Zoological Survey of India (ZSI), Kolkata

The Ministry of Environment and Forests of India controls a number of autonomous institutions. Some of these include:
  1. Central Zoo Authority (CZA), New Delhi
  2. Indian Council of Forestry Research & Education (ICFRE), Dehradun
  3. Forest Research Institute (FRI), Dehradun
  4. Institute of Forest Productivity (IFP), Ranchi

The address of the Ministry of Environment and Forests is:
The Secretary
Government of India, Ministry of Environment & Forests
Paryavaran Bhavan,
CGO Complex,
Lodhi Road
New Delhi - 110 003
Phone: +91-11-24361669, 24360605, 24360570, 24361147, 24360519

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012