Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

Ministry of Health and Family Welfare aims at bettering health conditions in India. The ministry functions through various organizations, institutions and commissions to fulfill its aim. The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare is headed by Honorable Minister Dr. Anbumani Ramadoss. However as the ministry is a part of the Executive- Indian Government, therefore at the state level it is governed by a secretary.
The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare includes various departments. These departments are:

  1. Department of Health
  2. Department of Family Welfare
  3. Department of Ayurveda, Yoga and Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH)
  4. Pharmacopoeial Laboratory for Indian Medicine (PLIM)

Some of the programs formulated by the Department of Health focus on the following:

  1. National Filaria Control program
  2. National Leprosy Eradication Programs
  3. National Program for Control of Blindness
  4. National Aids Control Program
  5. National Cancer Control Program
  6. National Vector Borne Disease Control Program
  7. TB control program
  8. National Mental Health Program
  9. Universal Immunization Program

The Department of Family Welfare is headed by a secretary, who is further assisted by Joint Secretaries and Programme Officers. They see to the proper implication of the various welfare programs formulated by the department. Some of the programs are maternal and child health services, policy formulation, Education and Communication and so on.

The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare also gives special facilities to the weaker sections so that they are not deprived for lack of money. Being an important part of the Central Government Ministries- India, the department also conducts various educational programs to create mass awareness.
The Central Institute of Psychiatry (CIP), the National Institute of Communicable Disease (NICD) and the Homoeopathic Pharmacopoeia Laboratory (HPL) are the subordinate offices of the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. There are also a number of boards and councils, which help in the work of the ministry. These boards and councils are listed below:

  1. National Board of Examinations
  2. Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR)
  3. Central Council for Research in Ayurveda and Siddha (CCRAS)
  4. Medical Council of India (MCI)
  5. Central Council for Research in Unani Medicine (CCRUM)
  6. National Medicinal Plants Board (NMPB)
  7. Central Council for Research in Homoeopathy (CCRH)

There are also some autonomous bodies, which directly controlled by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. These organizations are:

  1. Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research (JIPMER)
  2. Morarji Desai National Institute of Yoga (MDNIY)
  3. International Institute for Population Sciences (IIPS)
  4. National Institute of Homoeopathy (NIH)
  5. All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS)
  6. National Institute of Ayurveda
  7. Rashtriya Ayurveda Vidyapeeth
  8. National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences (NIMHANS)
  9. Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh
  10. National Institute of Naturopathy (NIN)
  11. North Eastern Indira Gandhi Regional Institute of Health and Medical Sciences (NEIGRIHMS)
  12. National Tuberculosis Institute (NTI)
  13. Lala Ram Swarup Institute of Tuberculosis and Respiratory Diseases

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012