Ministry of Law and Justice

The Ministry of Law and Justice is a central government Executive body responsible for creation of Indian laws and their effective practical implementation. The Ministry of Law and Justice is currently headed by the Honorable Minister Shri Hansraj Bharadwaj.

The Ministry of Law and Justice is demarcated into three central government bodies. The three central government entities are:

  • Department of Legal Affairs
  • Legislative Department
  • Department of Justice

The Department of Legal Affairs under the Indian Ministry of Law and Justice performs the function of dispensing valuable legal advice to government ministries according to general and specific requirements. The department also appoints qualified counsel to argue for the Indian government in a Court of law. The Attorney General of India is one of the top functionaries of the Department of Legal Affairs.

The Legislative Department is responsible for drafting bills. It also enacts State Acts when asked to do so. The Legislative Department of the Indian Ministry of Law and Justice is responsible for the publishing of Central Ordinance, Regulations and Acts. It also takes responsibility for publication of relevant law books into Hindi. Law journals are also published by the department. The Department of Justice is responsible for appointing, resignation and removal of the Judges of the Supreme Court of India. The Indian Chief Justice is also appointed by the Department of Justice.

The First National Judicial Pay Commission and the Law Commission of India are the two commissions associated to the Ministry of Law and Justice. The Income Tax Appellate Tribunal (ITAT) and the Indian Courts are also associated with the ministry.

The address of Ministry of Law and Justice is:

Ministry of Law and Justice
4th Floor, A-Wing
Shastri Bhawan
New Delhi-110 001

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012