Ministry of Mines

The Ministry of Mines functions with the aim of formulating effective procedures to regulate the mining industry. The Ministry of Mines is currently headed by the Honorable Minister Shri Sis Ram Ola.

The Ministry of Mines in India takes complete responsibility for the survey and consequent exploration of all mines in the Indian Territory. The gambit of the Ministry, however, does not extend to natural fossil fuels like petroleum and natural gas. Non ferrous metals like zinc, copper, gold, nickel, and lead are included under the legal umbrella of the Indian Ministry of Mines. The Ministry of Mines has no administrative influence over coal and lignite.

The Ministry of Mines of India has a formal hierarchical power structure. It is headed by a Secretary. The Secretary is assisted in his or her official duties by a Joint Secretary, an Additional Secretary and also by a Financial Advisor. Other key members include two Joint Secretaries, one Adviser, three Deputy Secretaries, one deputy director, seven Private Secretaries, Five Under Secretaries, and one Assistant Director. The Ministry of Mines has the power of enforcing legislation in maritime properties that belong to the Indian Republic. The Ministry also acts as an initial hand-holding partner to new mining enterprises that seek to develop the natural resources of India.

The Ministry houses an Information and Facilitation Centre which offers all relevant facts about it. With the aim of co-coordinating all allied departments, the Ministry plans, develop and controls the functions of various industries related to mining and metallurgy. Some other government organizations that offer assistance to the Ministry are Indian Bureau of Mines, Geological Survey of India and Mineral Exploration Corporation Limited.

The address of the Ministry of Mines is:

Ministry of Mines
3rd Floor, A Wing
Shastri Bhawan
New Delhi

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012