Ministry of Railways

Ministry of Railways is entrusted with the responsibility of carrying out policies and programs for the development of the railway of India. Honorable Lalu Prasad Yadav is the Minister of Indian Railways. The Indian Railways is divided into a total of 16 zones. These are as follows:

  • Central Railway
  • Northern Railway
  • Northeast Frontier Railway
  • North Eastern Railway
  • North Western Railway
  • North Central Railway
  • Eastern Railway
  • East Coast Railway
  • East Central Railway
  • South Western Railway
  • South Central Railway
  • Southern Railway
  • South Eastern Railway
  • South East Central Railway
  • Western Railway
  • West Central Railway

The East Central Railway and the North Western Railway came up recently on 1st October, 2002. The Ministry of Railways is trying to develop more fuel-efficient locomotives having higher horse power and high-speed coaches. The Ministry has also established various committees like the Divisional Railway Users' Consultative Committees and the Zonal Railway Users' Consultative Committees to establish a sound relationship between the public and Railway administration.

The Indian Ministry of Railways has introduced the following for the development of railways:
  • centralized traffic control
  • panel inter-locking and route relay inter-locking
  • multi-aspect color light signaling
  • automatic signaling

Operating a total of 11, 000 trains on a daily basis the Indian Railways offers 7000 passenger trains per day for the convenience of the rail commuters. The Ministry of Railways looks after the safety and comfortability of the passengers by formulating various plans and policies. The Ministry also enables the passengers to get important information from the official website of Indian Railways.

With many such allied services, the Ministry of Railways, India has been showing a steady progress ensuring a prospective future of this sector.

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012