Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment got its present name in May, 1998. Earlier it comprised of the Department of Women and Child Development and the Department of Welfare under the Ministry of Welfare. Honorable Minister Smt. Meira Kumar heads the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, India.

Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment aims at welfare activities and fighting for social justice of the weaker sections of the society like the Scheduled Castes and other backward communities. The ministry is entrusted with the task of making these sections self-dependent. There is a board that works in their capacity for the welfare programs. This includes a Secretary, Additional Secretary, Joint Secretary and Deputy Director General.

The various functions of the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment of India are given below:

  • Formulation of plans and policies for the betterment of the backward communities.
  • Taking care of the orphans.
  • Taking care of the physically and mentally handicapped.
  • It looks after the administration of Central Braille Press of Dehra Dun, Training Centre for the Adult Deaf and School for the partially deaf children of Hyderabad and Model School for Mentally Retarded Children of New Delhi.
  • Matters related to the rehabilitation of drug addicts.
  • To look after the well-being of the old people.
  • Scholarships to students who belong to the Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribes, etc.

There are 7 statutory bodies of the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, which are:
  1. National Commission for Safai Karamcharis (NCSK)
  2. Chief Commissioner for Disabilities
  3. National Trust for the Welfare of Persons with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities
  4. National Commission for Scheduled Castes (NCSC)
  5. National Commission for Denotified, Nomadic and Semi-Nomadic Tribes (NCDNSNT)
  6. Rehabilitation Council of India (RCI)
  7. National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC)
There are also many autonomous bodies, which are associated with the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment. These units are listed below:
  1. National Institute of Social Defence (NISD)
  2. Central Adoption Resource Agency (CARA)
  3. National Institute for Empowerment of Persons with Multiple Disabilities (NIEPMD)
  4. Dr. Ambedkar Foundation
  5. National Institute for the Mentally Handicapped (NIMH)
  6. National Institute of Rehabilitation Training and Research (NIRTAR)
  7. Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Institute for the Physically Handicapped (PDDUIPH)
  8. National Institute for the Orthopaedically Handicapped (NIOH)
  9. Ali Yavar Jung National Institute for the Hearing Handicapped (AYJNIHH)
  10. National Institute for the Visually Handicapped (NIVH)

The Indian Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment has been playing a very important part in its field from the time of inception.

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012