Ministry of Urban Development

Ministry of Urban Development came up in the year of 1952 on 13th of May. It was then known as the Ministry of Works, Housing and Supply. It is entrusted with the role of formulating policies and programs related to matters of urban development.

Shri S. Jaipal Reddy heads the Ministry of Urban Development of India. The chair of the Secretary is looked after by Shri M. Ramachandran assisted by Additional Secretary Shri SM Acharya. Besides, there are three Joint Secretaries.

The Ministry of Urban Development of India has the following functions to perform:
  • Looking after all Government as well as Union Territory Civil Works and buildings with some exceptions.
  • Central Public Works Organization.
  • Allotment of accommodation in Vigyan Bhawan.
  • Fixation of rates for the rail-based urban transport systems excepting those funded by the Indian Railways.
  • Administer Government estates.
  • Administer the Sarojini Nagar Market, Kamla Market, Pleasure Garden Market and Shankar Market.
  • Formulating plans for the development of metropolitan areas, etc.

The Department of Publication is the subordinate office of the Ministry of Urban Development, India. The National Institute of Urban Affairs (NIUA), an autonomous body, is under administrative control of the ministry.
The various offices that are attached to the Indian Ministry of Urban Development are:
  1. Central Public Works Department
  2. Directorate of Estates
  3. Directorate of Printing
  4. Land and Development Office

The Ministry of Urban Development, India has been playing a very crucial role in the field of urban development. The statutory bodies of the ministry are:
  1. Delhi Development Authority (DDA)
  2. Delhi Urban Art Commission (DUAC)
  3. National Capital Region Planning Board (NCRPB)

The Public Sector Undertakings or PSUs associated with the ministry are the National Buildings Construction Corporation Limited (NBCC) and the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Limited (DMRC). The other companies associated to the ministry are:
  1. Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission
  2. Central Public Health and Environmental Engineering Organisation (CPHEEO)
  3. Principal Accounts Office (PAO)

Last Updated on 1st Oct 2012