Where Will IPL 2020 be Held?

Map of UAE Highlighting Location of the Venues of IPL 2020
Map of UAE depicting location of the venues of IPL 2020

The much delayed IPL 2020 is starting today (19 Sep 2020) without its glitz and glamour. All the matches in the 13th edition of IPL will be held behind closed doors, across the three venues in the United Arab Emirates. In the opening match, Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will start the season’s blockbuster proceedings.

Three venues- Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah will host as many as 60 IPL matches, which will continue till 10 Nov 2020. Dubai is ready to host the maximum number of contests, followed by Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) sounded a warning bugle just before the start of the IPL 2020. The BCCI said that media persons would not be allowed to cover the cricket matches from the stadium because of strict health safety protocols on account of the novel coronavirus pandemic.

The Twenty 20 extravagant IPL generally starts in late March. But this year, it was postponed due to a nationwide lockdown in the wake of the COVID-19 virus. Then BCCI decided to shift the venue to the UAE. It was moved to the United Arab Emirates as positive cases in India are surging alarmingly. All the teams are following the safety protocols as instructed by the officials since their landing in the UAE.

It is the second occasion in the history of IPL that the tournament will take place outside India. The second edition of IPL in 2009 had taken place in South Africa.

There will be neither a spectacular opening ceremony nor any breathtaking programs that will take place in the world’s richest T20 cricket league. Spectators will not be allowed to enjoy matches from the stadium. Cricket fans will only be allowed virtually in the stadium, and all the contests will take place behind closed doors.

Related Links:

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *