IPL 8 Begins - T20 thrill is back  |  Cricketers to Watch Out for in IPL 2015  |  Players Selection Process for Indian Cricket Team

Cricket Stadiums in India

Cricket in India is just not a game; people in India follow the game and its players with same sacredness with which they practice their religion. Its popularity in India far exceeds other sports and has completely overshadowed even the national game of India- Hockey, which is obvious as the laurels brought to India by this game are unmatched by any other sporting event. In such a situation it becomes necessary for BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) to have world class infrastructure and facilities in place in order to match up to the international standards and to ensure that the players do not have to compromise on performance due to lack of facilities. The cricket stadiums looking from this point become very crucial as this is the place where all the action is bound to take place.

India has a sufficient number of cricket stadiums equipped with all the modern facilities for the benefit of the players and the audiences and continuous efforts are being taken to make them even better. These stadiums host several international cricket games and are sites of some great matches played between different countries. The Eden Gardens in Kolkata is the oldest and the largest cricket ground in India with seating capacity of around 100000 people. It also is called the Lord's of India. The stadium in Mohali is believed to be the most beautiful Indian stadium by many people. Delhi's Feroz Shah Kotla and Mumbai's Wankhede stadium are among the other popular stadiums of cricket in India.

List of Cricket Stadiums in India

  • Gymkhana Ground (Mumbai)
  • Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai)
  • Eden Gardens(Kolkata)
  • Feroz Shah Kotla (New Delhi)
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (New Delhi)
  • M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (Bangalore)
  • Punjab Cricket Association Stadium (Chandigarh)
  • Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium (Dharamsala)
  • Sawai Mansingh Stadium (Jaipur)
  • MA Chidambaram Stadium (Chennai)
  • Holkar Cricket Stadium (Indore)
  • Indira Gandhi Stadium (Vijayawada)
  • Indira Priyadarshini Stadium (Visakhapatnam)
  • K. D. Singh 'Babu' Stadium (Lucknow)
  • Keenan Stadium (Jamshedpur)
  • Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium (Hyderabad)
  • Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium (Hyderabad)
  • Sardar Patel Stadium (Motera, Ahmedabad)
  • Moin-ul-Haq Stadium (Patna)
  • Moti Bagh Stadium (Baroda)
  • Reliance Stadium (Baroda)
  • Sardar Vallabhai Patel Stadium (Ahmedabad)
  • Gandhi Sports Complex Ground (Amritsar)
  • Gandhi Stadium (Jalandhar)
  • Green Park (Kanpur)
  • Madhavrao Scindia Cricket Ground (Rajkot)
  • Nahar Singh Stadium (Faridabad)
  • Nehru Stadium (Guwahati)
  • Nehru Stadium (Chennai)
  • Nehru Stadium (Indore)
  • Nehru Stadium (Kochi)
  • Nehru Stadium (Goa)
  • Nehru Stadium (Pune)
  • Sher-i-Kashmir Stadium (Srinagar)
  • University Ground (Lucknow)
  • University Stadium (Thiruvananthapuram)
  • Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground (old) (Nagpur)
  • Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium (Nagpur)

Last Updated on September 06, 2012