Browse by

Major News and Events of 10 July 2017

What Happened on 10 July 2017

Ahmedabad gets UNESCO heritage tag

Six hundred year old Ahmedabad city has been declared a heritage city by UNESCO. Ahmedabad is the first city in India to achieve the world heritage status. Ahmedabad has over 2600 heritage sites and twenty ASI protected monuments and sites. The city had figured in UNESCO’s tentative list in 2011. The heritage status is expected to promote tourism to the city of Ahmedabad.

Swayam and Swayam Prabha courses launched by President

According to reports, President Mukherjee launched programmes Swayam and Swayam Prabha for making education more accessible to remotest part of India. President also launched National Academic Depository' where verified educational records would be digitally stored by universities or a board to counter forgery.

Reports suggest that under Swayam, courses would be offered through digital classrooms with online study material available free of cost in videos. Those students who want certification will have to be registered and then offered a certificate on the completion of the course for a nominal fee. 

India, United States, and Japan begin Malabar drills

According to reports, Malabar drill is being held at Chennai port and the three nations participating in the exercise are India, the United States and Japan.Reports state that sea drills will commence from 14 July and will be of four days. Warships, submarines and aircraft carriers are participating in the exercise.

Aircraft, aircraft engines import exempt from GST

According to reports, government is exempting the import of aircraft, aircraft engines and its parts via leasing route from the purview of the Goods and Services Tax (GST).The notification from the Finance Ministry states that airlines will not have to pay GST at the time of import. However, lease rentals will be subject to GST. 

FAQs and Answers on Indian History and Geography
How many states are there in India? There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. The states have their own government while the union territories are governed by the central government. The states are namely, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,… Read More...
Which cities in India have the metro railway system? The Metro railway system and service are operational in 10 cities in India. These are Kolkata, Delhi, Bengaluru, Gurugram, Mumbai, Chennai, Jaipur, Kochi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow. The Kolkata Metro rail is the… Read More...
Which states in India have less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...