Browse by

Major News and Events of 13 August 2014

What Happened on 13 August 2014

President distributes best parliamentary awards

The President of India, Pranab Mukherjee presented the best parliamentarian awards to several political leaders. Finance Minister Arun Jaitley,  Congress leader Karan Singh,  and JD-U President Sharad Yadav were awarded for the years 2010, 2011 and 2012 respectively. The awards were presented during an event organised by the Indian Parliamentary Group. President Mukherjee said these leaders have made significant contribution to the institution of  Parliament.


Mary Kom: I felt disrespected

London Olympic bronze medallist Mary Kom is upset over the sudden postponement of the Asian Games trials. She said that she felt humiliated as the ad-hoc committee did not even intimate her about the postponement of the event. She added that she reached Patiala and was not informed about the change in the event's schdeule . She also stated that boxing in India is not in a good condition as it has been a long time since any national level tournament has been organised for the sport.

Next generation e-ticketing system for railways to be launched today

The railways will be launching a next generation e-ticketing system today which will make the process of ticket booking easier and faster. The new system will be launched by Railway Minister Sadananda Gowda by clicking the new IRCTC ticketing website. He will also launch the IT initiatives such as e-demand and e-division modules in the railway sector. A mobile application and a Go India Smart card will also be launched. As per media report, 7200 tickets per minute can be booked through the new system instead of the present limit of 2000 tickets.

No Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards; 15 selected for Arjuna Award

This will be for the first time in the last two decades that no sportsperson will be honoured with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 2014. A panel that was to decide the names of the players for different awards has only decided 15 names for the Arjuna Awards. Cricketer R Ashwin, shuttler V Diju, golfer Anirban Lahiri, shooter Heena Sidhu and athlete Tintu Luka are few of the names selected for Arjuna Awards.

Nokia Lumia 530 Dual SIM launched in India at Rs 7,199

Microsoft’s Nokia Lumia 530 Dual SIM phone has been launched in India and is priced at Rs 7,199. The single SIM variant of the same handset was launched on 23 July with similar specifications. The Dual SIM version is available on the company’s online store only. The features of the handset include 4-inch FWVGA (480x854 pixels) LCD display and 512MB of RAM. The dual SIM handset will be available in bright orange, dark grey, bright green and white colour.

55,000 Mi3 units of Xiaomi sold in India in less than 40 minutes

As another set of flash sale by Xiaomi ends, the total number of mobile phone units sold by the company accounts for 55,000. During the first flash sale, the company took 38 minutes to sell its devices. But, subsequently it took 5 seconds, 2 seconds and now 2.4 seconds to sell the lot it has offered during its flash sales. Xiaomi had gone for the online distribution model with an exclusive tie-up with Flipkart. 

AAP to start a signature campaign to demand fresh polls in Delhi

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) will start a signature campaign from today in Delhi, seeking the opinion of the voters for having re-elections in Delhi. Earlier, AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal had given an ultimatum to Lt-Governor Najeeb Jung which ended on Sunday last. The campaign will be first launched in Patparganj Assembly constituency and is expected to continue for 15-20 days.

TDP and TMC get into a scuffle over room in Parliament

Two political parties got into a scuffle over the offices allotted to them in Parliament. The Trinamool Congress (TMC) was allotted room number 5 which was held by Telugu Desam Party (TDP) since last 30 years. TDP has been asked to shift to room number 135 which was previously occupied by the CPI (M). Both TDP and CPI (M) were not agreeing to vacate their rooms. The allotment of rooms is done on the basis of the strength of the different political parties. However, refusals by the political parties to vacate the rooms are quite common in the Lok Sabha.

AAP's leader Yogendra Yadav detained during protest against CSAT

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Yogendra Yadav along with a group of 100 civil service aspirants was detained while they were protesting against the Civil Services Aptitute Test (CSAT). As per reports, the protesters were trying to enter Parliament from Jantar Mantar around 8 p.m. The civil service aspirants are demanding scrapping of the CSAT with their protest against it continuing for many days.

President's Advisory to Unruly MPs

After a row erupted in Parliament between the members of the Telugu Desam party (TDP) and the Trinamool Congress (TMC) over space in a particular room of Parliament House, the President Pranab Mukherjee made an appeal to the lawmakers to maintain dignity, prestige and honour of Parliament. While addressing the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award event, he appealed to the members to preserve the dignity and honour of the great institution, as it is their responsibility.  

FAQs and Answers on Indian History and Geography
How many states are there in India? There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. The states have their own government while the union territories are governed by the central government. The states are namely, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,… Read More...
Which cities in India have the metro railway system? The Metro railway system and service are operational in 10 cities in India. These are Kolkata, Delhi, Bengaluru, Gurugram, Mumbai, Chennai, Jaipur, Kochi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow. The Kolkata Metro rail is the… Read More...
Which states in India have less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...