Browse by

Major News and Events of 16 May 2014

What Happened on 16 May 2014

BJP to form the government at the centre

With an early lead of 265 the Bharatiya Janata Party is all set to form the government at the centre, whereas the Congress who ruled for a decade has seen the most unpleasant defeat. Right from the beginning of the counting BJP was ahead of all other political parties. BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi won both from Vadodara and Varanasi. Other senior members of the BJP, Nitin Gadkari also won from Nagpur, Rajnath won from Lucknow, and L K Advani from Gandhinagar.

AAP's performs poorly in the Lok Sabha elections

The Aam Aadami Party (AAP) won on just a few seats in Punjab. The AAP candidate actor-comedian Bhagwant Mann won the Sangrur seat by defeating former Union Minister Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa of the Akali Dal, and the sitting MP Vijay Inder Singla of Congress. AAP candidates were also leading in Faridkot, Patiala and Fatehgarh Sahib seats in Punjab. In spite of popularity, AAP’s Gul Panag could not make it. The party’s performance was very poor in the rest of the country also. The Party Chief, Arvind Kejriwal was also defeated by BJP’s Narendra Modi in Varanasi.

Indian stock market breaks all-time high records

The Indian stock market is witnessing all-time high records. This is happening because of the trends and counting showing the win of BJP’s Narendra Modi. The 30-scrip S&P Sensex of the Bombay Stock Exchange started at 24,271.54 points and reached 25,375.63 points. But, tremendous volatility has been seen in the market and no negative trend has been observed in the Sensex. Volatility trading of the Nifty remained between 7,130.65 points to 7,563.50 points.

RJD chief Lalu Prasad's wife and daughter lose in elections

Former Chief Minister Rabri Devi, and her daughter Misa Bharti lost in the Lok Sabha elections from Saran and Patliputra parliamentary constituencies, respectively. Wife of RJD Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav, Rabri Devi, and his daughter Misa Bharti, were contesting against Bharatiya Janata Party candidates Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Ram Kirpal Yadav. The peopl in the constituencies chose the BJP candidate. Lalu Prasad Yadav won his first elections from Saran in 1977.

TRS wins on six Lok Sabha seats in Telangana

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) won six seats in Telangana. The Medak Lok Sabha constituency seat was won by Party chief K Chandrasekhara Rao, whereas his daughter K Kavitha won from the Nizamabad seat. Other TRS members also won the Adilabad, Zahirabad and Karimnagar constituencies. One seat was retained by the Congress. In Hyderabad, the Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) was close to majority.

Arvind Kejriwal disappointed over party's performance in Delhi

The AAP did extremely well in Delhi Assembly elections, but the Party Chief Arvind Kejriwal is highly disappointed with the outcome in Delhi Lok Sabha elections, where the party is losing from all the seven seats, while BJP is maintaining the lead. As per media reports, Kejriwal is happy with the party's performance in Punjab. He also said that, the people's decision is of utmost importance in a democracy.

FAQs and Answers on Indian History and Geography
Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.

We follow for border and boundary demarcations