Browse by

Major News and Events of 17 August 2016

What Happened on 17 August 2016

Manipur gets Najma Heptullah as New Governor

The Centre has named the Governor of Manipur on Wednesday. Former union minister Dr Najma Heptullah is going to be the Governor of the north-eastern state, Manipur, taking over from V Shamuganathan, who was additionally taking care of the position since September 30, 2015. Names of Governors of other states have also been announced.

Spurious Liquor Kills 12 People in Bihar

At least 12 people have lost their lives after consuming spurious liquor in Gopalgunj district of Bihar. The victims were admitted to the Sadar hospital in Gopalgunj, but none could be saved. As per the families of the deceased, the men consumed the liquor on 15th August, while police say that it has happened because of food poisoning.

Assembly Speaker Evicts DMK MLAs

Assembly speaker P Dhanapal has evicted more than 80 DMK MLAs on Wednesday and then suspended them for a week. According to reports, arguments took place between the DMK MLAs and the speaker, but as it was settling down, the MLAs made ugly noise which ended up in their eviction. Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa was not present at the assembly session.

FAQs and Answers on Indian History and Geography
Which states in India has less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...
Which State is biggest Jute producer? West Bengal is the largest producer of jute in India. India is the largest producer of jute in the world. Approximately 60 percent of the total world produce of jute is cultivated in India… Read More...
Which State is the Largest Tea producer? Assam is the largest producer of tea in India. India is one of the largest producers of tea in the world, second only to China. India recorded a total production of 1233.14 million… Read More...