Browse by

Major News and Events of 17 June 2016

What Happened on 17 June 2016

PM Modi Gives Five-Point Mantra to Tax Officials

Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the two-day conclave of tax administrators 'Rajasva Gyan Sangam' yesterday. He invited suggestions from officers on how to improvise the taxation system in the country. He stressed on the need to remove fear of harassment and asked officials to bring in more trust in the present system. The Prime Minister also motivated revenue officers to achieve high standards in taxpayer-friendly service and gave the five-point mantra of RAPID which stands for revenue, accountability, probity, information and digitisation. 

Govt Cancels FCRA Registration of Teesta Setalvad's NGO

The Union Home Ministry has cancelled the registration of activist Teesta Setalvad’s NGO Sabrang Trust under the Foreign Contribution Regulation Act, 2010 (FCRA) on account of alleged violation of the Act's provisions. Teesta's NGO will not be able to receive funds and donations from foreign entities now.The ministry has alleged that Sabrang Trust used foreign contributions for unauthorised purposes, that it mixed foreign and domestic contribution and diverted foreign contributions for personal gain.

President Concludes Namibia Visit

President Pranab Mukherjee and his Namibian counterpart Hage Geingob signed two MOUs on capacity building for civil servants of the host country and setting up of a centre of excellence in ICT. Both the Indian and Namibian Presidents emphasized the need for reforms in United Nations and its principal organs to make the body more reflective of the evolving world scenario. The two countries also decided to work on issues which are hindering uranium supply from the resource-rich African country.

FAQs and Answers on Indian History and Geography
Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.

We follow for border and boundary demarcations