Browse by

Major News and Events of 17 May 2014

What Happened on 17 May 2014

Obama congratulates Modi on his tremendous win

The US President called upon Indian Prime Minister designate Narendra Modi, and congratulated him on his tremendous win in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, as per media reports. Obama said that, India is the largest democracy in the world and this clear victory shows that people want Modi as their leader. The two leaders also discussed the India-US Strategic Partnership. The US had earlier denied the US visa to Modi.

Senior leaders of Congress face defeat

Many senior Congress leaders have been defeated in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections including, Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde, and Law Minister Kapil Sibal, as per media reports. Sibal lost to the BJP candidare Harsh Vardhan from the Chandni Chowk constituency in Delhi. The list of losers in Congress is long this time and includes the name of Women and Children Development Minister Krishna Tirath (Delhi North West), Minster of State in PMO V Narayanasam, Corporate Affairs Minister Sachin Pilot (Ajmer), Culture Minister Chandresh Kumari Katoch (Jodhpur), and so on.

Mumbai lawyers happy over SC's judgement on the Akshardham temple attack

The Supreme Court gave the death row to all the six convicts of the 2002 Akshardham temple terror attack in Gandhinagar, Gujarat. The terrorists attacked the temple on 24 September 2002, killing 33 people and injuring 80. The lawyers in Mumbai are satisfied and happy over the judgement, as per media reports. The then deputy Superintendent of Police D G Vanzara conducted the investigation leading to the arrest of the convicts. Presently, he is going through the Sohrauddin fake gun battle case. Convicts called the investigation incomplete and unfair.

BJP's new MPs to meet on 20 May

The victorious Bharatiya Janata Party has called all its new elected MPs for a meeting on 20 May to choose the party’s parliamentary party leader. As per media reports, Party President Rajnath Singh said that, there is no doubt that Narendra Modi is the elected party leader. He is the one who helped the party to win such a high number of seats. The party is also thinking about Modi’s successor in Gujarat. Modi has been leading Gujarat since 2001.

PM Manmohan Singh submits his resignation to the President

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh today, submitted his resignation to President Pranab Mukherjee, as per media reports. Manmohan Singh completed two tenures as the PM, leading the Congress-led UPA government, since 2004. He met his Cabinet before submitting the resignation at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. A motion of thanks was passed by the Cabinet, and PM Manmohan Singh also addressed the nation, and said that India is now a far stronger nation than a decade ago.

Capt. C P Nair, founder of the Leela Group of hotels passes away

92-year old Capt. C P Krishnan Nair, founder of the Leela Group of luxury hotels and resorts is no more. He passed away at around 3.30 a.m. at the Hinduja Hospital after a short illness. Cremation will take place at the Vile Parle crematorium. Nair joined the Indian Army and resigned in 1951. Nair added a valuable contribution to the handloom industry, by establishing the All India Handloom Board and improving the quality of hand-spun yarn. Nair won many domestic and international awards and was honoured with the Padma Bhushan.

FAQs and Answers on Indian History and Geography
Which State is biggest Jute producer? West Bengal is the largest producer of jute in India. India is the largest producer of jute in the world. Approximately 60 percent of the total world produce of jute is cultivated in India… Read More...
Which State is the Largest Tea producer? Assam is the largest producer of tea in India. India is one of the largest producers of tea in the world, second only to China. India recorded a total production of 1233.14 million… Read More...
Which State is the Largest Mica Producer? Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of mica in India. For over hundred years, India had enjoyed monopoly in production and export of sheet mica in the world. Of late,… Read More...