Browse by

Major News and Events of 18 December 2017

What Happened on 18 December 2017

World Super Series Final: PV Sindhu wins Silver

PV Sindhu won the Silver medal in World Superseries Final at Dubai. Though, she lost the match to Japan's Akane Yamaguchi in the final which was held in Dubai, but she managed to win silver medal and several hearts. It was a neck-to-neck fight. The match continued for over 94 minutes leaving both the players extremely exhausted. The tussle between the two players was a treat to watch and every moment of the match was considered thrilling. In the first match, Sindhu took a lead but later Yamaguchi made a vigorous comeback by 15-21, 21-12, 21-19 which ultimately led to her victory. Sindhu is the second Indian female shuttler to win a silver medal in the season-ending tournament. First was Saina Nehwal.

Visa application of Kulbhushan Jadhav's mother and wife under 'process', says Pakistan

The Foreign Office spokesman of Pakistan, Mohammad Faisal confirmed in a tweet that the visa applications of the mother and wife of Kulbhushan Jadhav are under process although he has not stated the exact time period for the approval of visas. Pakistan has rejected India's plea for consular access to Jadhav in the past. According to Pakistan, Jadhav is not an ordinary person. He had entered Pakistan with the intention of spying.

FAQs and Answers on Indian History and Geography
Which Are The Worst Polluted Indian Cities? India for years has been striving to improve its air quality in urban areas, which takes a massive toll on the health of millions of its residents. Every year, a number of its cities… Read More...
Which state of India has given maximum number of Indian cricket captains? The state of Maharashtra has seen the maximum number of players went onto represent India. Maharashtra has been a home to many famous Bollywood celebrities but this state… Read More...
Which State Has Given the Highest Number of Prime Ministers? Uttar Pradesh has given India the maximum number of Prime Ministers. There have been 14 Prime Ministers of the country so far, and eight of them have been from Uttar Pradesh… Read More...