Browse by

Major News and Events of 18 January 2015

What Happened on 18 January 2015

DPCC chief Arvinder Singh Lovely decides not to go for Delhi Assembly elections 2015

Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee Chief (DPCC) Arvinder Singh Lovely who was earlier selected to contest election from Gandhi Nagar has decided not to contest 2015 Assembly elections. His decision came after Ajay Maken's appointment as the head of the Campaign Committee for Delhi Assembly elections 2015. Ajay Maken had earlier served as Union Minister, Communication Department Chairman of the party and AICC General Secretary.

Delhi to have 80-100 face-recognition cameras ahead of Obama's Republic Day visit

80-100 face-recognition cameras are being installed at the entry points of Delhi such as airports, railway-stations, bus-stands as well as routes towards Rajpath ahead of US President Barack Obama's visit to Delhi who is the chief guest for Republic Day. As per media report these are extremely advance cameras laced with face recognition algorithm that can identify faces in a crowd and then match these with the database of available photographs of criminals and terrorists.

India politely turned down US suggestion for a no-fly zone over Rajpath on R-day

US President Barack Obama's security team's suggestion for imposing a 5-km "no-fly zone" around the Rajpath during the Republic Day parade has been turned down by India. Accepting this would led to the cancellation of the conventional flypast on January 26. The proposal has been politely turned down by the military. Republic Day parade will have the US President as the chief guest for the first time. As per media report 18 fighter jets, five aircraft and 10 helicopters will be a part of the flypast this year.

Ishant Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja out of tri-series against Australia due to injuries

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni said that pacer Ishant Sharma because of his left knee injury and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja for his left should injury wont be a part of India's opening game in the ODI tri-series against Australia. The match is scheduled to be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Sunday. Dhoni then talked about his bowling plans and asked packers for perfect yorkers. Mohit Sharma and Kulkarni have also been included in the tri-series team to give a recovery time to main bowlers.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitely against increasing income tax rate for higher revenue

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley on Saturday said that the NDA government is not in the favor of raising revenue by imposing higher taxes. On the other hand government wants money in the hands of consumer to spend which will increase the production and it will help the country. This spending is required to revive the economy. Jaitley is going to present his first full fledged budget in Lok Sabha next month. He said that budgetary process will be transparent.

AAP intensifies attacks on BJP

In an attack on the Bharatiya Janta Party, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Saturday said that Kiran Bedi's entry into the party has been done to save PM Narendra Modi's face in case the party fails to win in Delhi. The AAP even called the BJP a 'sinking ship'. The AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal in his attack on the BJP said that the party had no other way as none of its previous tactics had worked in Delhi earlier. Former IPS officer and member of Anna's team, Kiran Bedi joined the BJP two days ago.

FAQs and Answers on Indian History and Geography
Which Are The Worst Polluted Indian Cities? India for years has been striving to improve its air quality in urban areas, which takes a massive toll on the health of millions of its residents. Every year, a number of its cities… Read More...
Which state of India has given maximum number of Indian cricket captains? The state of Maharashtra has seen the maximum number of players went onto represent India. Maharashtra has been a home to many famous Bollywood celebrities but this state… Read More...
Which State Has Given the Highest Number of Prime Ministers? Uttar Pradesh has given India the maximum number of Prime Ministers. There have been 14 Prime Ministers of the country so far, and eight of them have been from Uttar Pradesh… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.

We follow for border and boundary demarcations