Browse by

Major News and Events of 23 March 2018

What Happened on 23 March 2018

Voting for 25 seats of Rajya Sabha is underway

The voting for 25 seats of Rajya Sabha is currently underway across the states of Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, and Telangana. The polling of votes began on Friday morning and will continue till 4 in the evening. The counting of votes will be started at 5 in the evening.

Air India makes history while flying from New Delhi to Tel Aviv

The flight of Air India has heralded a new chapter in the India- Israel relationship and has ended a decades-old overfly ban by Saudi Arabia. Saudi Arabia for the first time opened its airspace to a commercial flight to Israel with the inauguration of an Air India route between New Delhi and Tel Aviv on Thursday. 

Government to declare 2018 as National Year of Millets

Agriculture Minister Radha Mohan Singh while addressing MPs in a consultative committee meeting in New Delhi stated on Thursday that the Government of India has decided to declare the year 2018 as the “National Year of Millets”. This decision is taken to boost the cultivation of millets like Jowar and ragi to achieve nutritional security. 

India successfully tests supersonic cruise missile BrahMos

India successfully tested a formidable supersonic cruise missile BrahMos on Thursday at 8:42 AM. The test was conducted from Pokhran test range in Rajasthan. Defence Minister Nirmala Sithraman congratulated the Armed Forces, Defence Research and Development Organization and Defence Industry for their successful attempt. 

Indian Parliament passes payment of Gratuity bill

The parliament has approved the payment of Gratuity bill of 2018 after Rajya Sabha adopted the bill on Thursday. The Lok Sabha has already passed the bill last week while Rajya Sabha passed it by  voice vote during Zero Hour without discussion.

FAQs and Answers on Indian History and Geography
How many states are there in India? There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. The states have their own government while the union territories are governed by the central government. The states are namely, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,… Read More...
Which cities in India have the metro railway system? The Metro railway system and service are operational in 10 cities in India. These are Kolkata, Delhi, Bengaluru, Gurugram, Mumbai, Chennai, Jaipur, Kochi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow. The Kolkata Metro rail is the… Read More...
Which states in India have less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...