Browse by

Major News and Events of 27 June 2014

What Happened on 27 June 2014

Agricultural professionals to lead the next farm revolution – President

Pointing towards the importance of agriculture, President Pranab Mukherjee said that the hard-working and committed professionals from agricultural institutes of India will lead the next farm revolution. Speaking at the golden jubilee convocation of the Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, he also expressed pain over the deteriorating condition of agricultural universities in India. But he praised the work done by Indian agricultural scientists and farmers which make India home to the fourth largest agricultural sector in the world.  He thanked farmers for transforming India from the importer of food grains in 1960s to becoming self-reliant and food grain exporter.

Interim bail of Tarun Tejpal extended till July 1

The interim bail of Tehelka founder editor Tarun Tejpal has been extended by the Supreme Court bench of Justice Vikramajit Sen and Justice Shiva Kirti Singh till July 1. He was arrested in Goa when one of his woman colleagues accused him of sexually assaulting her in the hotel lift. But the counsel for Goa government resisted the decision by saying that no extension application has been submitted. Tejpal was granted three-week interim bail on May 19 by the Supreme Court to perform the last rites of his mother.

Nagaland Governor's resignation accepted by President

Nagaland Governor Ashwani Kumar submitted his resignation to the President Pranab Mukherjee who has accepted it, as per media reports. Meghalaya Governor K.K. Paul will assume additional charge as the Governor of Nagaland till regular arrangements. Karnataka Governor H.R. Bhardwaj has completed his term and in his place Tamil Nadu Governor K. Rosaiah will take charge of Karnataka. Similarly, Mizoram Governor Vakkom Purushothaman will discharge the functions of the Governor of Tripura in place of  Devanand Konwar.

SC residents of Punjab to be benefitted under Adarsh Gram Yojna

Union minister for social justice and empowerment, Thaawar Chand Gehlot has given his approval to include Punjab under the "Prime Minister Adarsh Gram Yojna". Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal said that he had been struggling for a long time to get this done.Punjab has the highest number of SCs in the country as per the 2011 census. Under this scheme, these communities will be provided basic facilities such as water supply, sewerage, hand pumps, solar streetlights and pavement of streets. 

GAIL gas pipeline blast kills 14 people, injuring 30

As a result of a blast in the gas pipeline of Gas Authority of India Limited (GAIL), 14 people died and 30 were left injured. The incident took place in theEast Godavaridistrict of Andhra Pradesh. At around 4:30 am at Nagaram village in Mamidikuduru Mandal of the district, there was a huge leakage of gas. The state police will carry out a detailed inquiry to find out the exact cause of blast.

Delhi University scraps FYUP

After a prolonged deadlock, theDelhi University has decided to remove the controversial four-year undergraduate programme (FYUP), as per media reports. The University has reverted to the three-year degree format. The decision has set in motion the admission process in the University-affiliated colleges. DU vice-chancellor Dinesh Singh said in a statement on the official website that the University’s decision is in line with the demand of the UGC. 

FAQs and Answers on Indian History and Geography
Which Are The Worst Polluted Indian Cities? India for years has been striving to improve its air quality in urban areas, which takes a massive toll on the health of millions of its residents. Every year, a number of its cities… Read More...
Which state of India has given maximum number of Indian cricket captains? The state of Maharashtra has seen the maximum number of players went onto represent India. Maharashtra has been a home to many famous Bollywood celebrities but this state… Read More...
Which State Has Given the Highest Number of Prime Ministers? Uttar Pradesh has given India the maximum number of Prime Ministers. There have been 14 Prime Ministers of the country so far, and eight of them have been from Uttar Pradesh… Read More...