Newsletter Subscription

Blogs e-Mail this Page

India Election Commission announces election dates for 5 states


The Election Commission of India announced the assembly poll dates for the states of Delhi, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattigarh and Mizoram. All these states will face the ballot in the month of November/December. Congress ruled Delhi will go to polls on November 29 along with the eastern state of Mizoram. EC has decided to get the elections done in two phases in Naxalite torn Chhattisgarh. People here will cast their vote on November 14 and 20. The fate of the candidates of Rajasthan assembly elections will be decided on December 4. The people of Madhya Pradesh will use their Adult Franchise on November 25.

No decision has yet been taken on the assembly elections in the state of Jammu and Kashmir. The state has been under the Federal rule since July 2008 following the collapse of the state government due to Amarnath land row.

These assembly elections are significant in more than one aspect in the wake of Lok Sabha elections early next year The assembly elections are popularity test for the Manmohan Singh led government and will predict the outcome of the General Elections, according to the election experts.