Home   »   Government   »   List of chief guests at the Republic Day celebrations (1950 to 2018)

List of chief guests at the Republic Day celebrations (1950 to 2018)

January 23, 2018

Chief Guests at Republic Day Parades

With the Republic Day around the corner, the national capital of India- Delhi, is once again starting to don a festive look. Each year, Indians look forward to an impressive display of military might and of cultural wealth at the Republic Day parade held at the Rajpath in Delhi. Republic Day is celebrated every year with full fervor in India. Chief Guests from different countries are invited to attend the celebrations and grace the ceremony.

The Chief Guest who is invited is usually the head of a state or government. . The choice of this Chief Guest too is the result of India’s diplomatic and economic stance and sets the tone for the year to come. Being invited by India to be present at one of the momentous events held is also an opportunity for the guest to strengthen bonds of economic and military cooperation between the two nations. International geo politics and strategic alliances also play a very important role in the choice of republic Day chief guest.

In 2015, just after coming to power, Prime Minister Narendra Modi invited erstwhile POTUS Barack Obama as the chief guest of the Republic Day. In 2016 President François Hollande of France and in 2017 Crown Prince Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan of the UAE graced the occasion.

Chief Guests of Republic Day 2018

Through the last few months we had some inkling about who the Chief Guests of the Republic Day parade of 2018 may be. The formal announcement, however, came on the last day of 2017 when Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced in his Mann ki Baat programme that the leaders of all the ten Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) countries would be arriving in India as chief guests of the 2018 Republic Day parade. “This is unprecedented in India’s history,” said the PM. The ten The ASEAN countries include Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. This is the first time that India shall be receiving these many chief guests. This emphasizes India’s agenda of strengthening ties with other South East Asian countries and its attempt to emerge as one of the most important nations in the continent. Gaining the support of the ASEAN countries will also strengthen India’s bid for a permanent seat in the UN Security Council.

Chief Guests expected at the India Republic Day of 2018

Guest name Country
Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah  Brunei
Prime Minister Hun Sen  Cambodia
President Joko Widodo  Indonesia
Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith  Laos
Prime Minister Najib Razak  Malaysia
President Htin Kyaw  Myanmar
President Rodrigo Roa Duterte  Philippines
President Halimah Yacob  Singapore
Prime Minister Prayuth Chan-ocha  Thailand
Prime Minister Nguyễn Xuân Phúc  Vietnam


List of Chief Guests on Indian Republic Day Parades (1950 – 2017)


Year Guest name Country
1950 President Sukarno  Indonesia
1951 King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah    Nepal
1952 No invitation No invitation
1953 No invitation No invitation
1954 King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck  Bhutan
1955 Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad  Pakistan
1956 Chancellor of the Exchequer R. A. Butler  United Kingdom
Chief Justice Kotaro Tanaka  Japan
1957 Minister of Defence Georgy Zhukov  Soviet Union
1958 Marshall Ye Jianying  China
1959 Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip  United Kingdom
1960 Chairman Kliment Voroshilov  Soviet Union
1961 Queen Elizabeth II  United Kingdom
1962 Prime Minister Viggo Kampmann  Denmark
1963 King Norodom Sihanouk  Cambodia
1964 Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten  United Kingdom
1965 Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid  Pakistan
1966 No invitation No invitation
1967 King Mohammed Zahir Shah  Afghanistan
1968 Chairman Alexei Kosygin  Soviet Union
President Josip Broz Tito  Yugoslavia
1969 Prime Minister Todor Zhivkov  Bulgaria
1970 King of the Belgians Baudouin  Belgium
1971 President Julius Nyerere  Tanzania
1972 Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam  Mauritius
1973 President Mobutu Sese Seko  Zaire
1974 President Josip Broz Tito  Yugoslavia
Prime Minister Sirimavo Bandaranaike  Sri Lanka
1975 President Kenneth Kaunda  Zambia
1976 Prime Minister Jacques Chirac  France
1977 First Secretary Edward Gierek  Poland
1978 President Patrick Hillery  Ireland
1979 Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser  Australia
1980 President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing  France
1981 President Jose Lopez Portillo  Mexico
1982 King Juan Carlos I  Spain
1983 President Shehu Shagari  Nigeria
1984 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck  Bhutan
1985 President Raúl Alfonsín  Argentina
1986 Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou  Greece
1987 President Alan Garcia  Peru
1988 President J. R. Jayewardene  Sri Lanka
1989 General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh  Vietnam
1990 Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth  Mauritius
1991 President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom  Maldives
1992 President Mário Soares  Portugal
1993 Prime Minister John Major  United Kingdom
1994 Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong  Singapore
1995 President Nelson Mandela  South Africa
1996 President Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso  Brazil
1997 Prime Minister Basdeo Panday  Trinidad and Tobago
1998 President Jacques Chirac  France
1999 King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev    Nepal
2000 President Olusegun Obasanjo  Nigeria
2001 President Abdelaziz Bouteflika  Algeria
2002 President Cassam Uteem  Mauritius
2003 President Mohammed Khatami  Iran
2004 President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva  Brazil
2005 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck  Bhutan
2006 King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud  Saudi Arabia
2007 President Vladimir Putin  Russia
2008 President Nicolas Sarkozy  France
2009 President Nursultan Nazarbayev  Kazakhstan
2010 President Lee Myung Bak  South Korea
2011 President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono  Indonesia
2012 Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra  Thailand
2013 King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck  Bhutan
2014 Prime Minister Shinzo Abe  Japan
2015 President Barack Obama  United States
2016 President François Hollande  France
2017 Crown Prince Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan  United Arab Emirates




Read More…

Republic Day Wallpapers

Writing a Great Republic Day Speech

Republic Day Celebration in India

About National Flag of India

National Symbols of India

Chief Guests at the Republic Day 2018

Essay on Republic Day (26 January)


An Indian. Born a princess, now a storyteller. A conversationalist. An empath. A woman with strong opinions.


EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.

We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations