Category Archives: Election Updates

May 24, 2019
Now Congress wishes to challenge Team Modi and Shah in 2024

Yes and no. Depending on one’s perspective. Yes, because it is like a first-time boxer who entered the ring believing he could defeat Mike Tyson. At the end of the fight, the boxer had to be taken out on a stretcher. Does it mean it’s the end of the boxer’s career? It’s an answer only the boxer can give. No, because politics is never about one battle. Political parties need to evolve. Else they wither [...]Read More

Lok Sabha Election 2019- Phase 1 Map

The 2019 Lok Sabha elections will be held from 11 April 2019 to 19 May 2019 and will be completed in 7 phases. The results will be announced on 23 May 2019. On 11 April, Phase-1 voting will be held in 91 Constituencies across 20 states, as listed below. Abbreviations: ST: Scheduled Tribe – Reserved seat SC: Scheduled Caste – Reserved seat Andhra Pradesh 1.Araku (ST) 2.Srikakulam 3.Vizianagaram 4.Visakhapatnam 5.Anakapalle 6.Kakinada 7.Amalapuram (SC) 8.Rajahmundry 9.Narsapuram [...]Read More

March 10, 2019
General Election 2019 Map

General Elections have just been announced, here is the schedule. Elections are being held in 7 Phases: Phase I – 11th April 2019   91 Constituencies in 20 States & UTs Andhra Pradesh 25, Arunachal Pradesh 2, Assam 5, Bihar 4, Chhattisgarh 1, Jammu and Kashmir 2, Maharashtra 7, Manipur 1, Meghalaya 2, Mizoram 1, Nagaland 1, Odisha 4, Sikkim 1, Telangana 17, Tripura 1, Uttar Pradesh 8, Uttarakhand 5, West Bengal 2, Andaman and [...]Read More

December 12, 2018
Telangana voted decisively for K Chandrashekar Rao

Telangana has voted and decisively in favour of K Chandrashekar Rao of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) for the second term in office. The results haven’t come as a surprise despite the last-minute challenge mounted by the Chandrababu Naidu-led TDP and Congress alliance – the Mahakutami. The final results: Total Seats: 119 Party Seats Number of Votes Vote Share Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) 88 9,700,749 46.9% Indian National Congress (INC) 19  5,883,111 28.4% All India Council [...]Read More

December 12, 2018
Mizoram assembly elections

December 16th marks the one-year anniversary of Rahul Gandhi’s presidency of the Indian National Congress (INC). And, what a year it has been! From being called “Pappu” every other day, to becoming what many term as a “serious threat to Modi in 2019”, Gandhi has come a long way. On December 11th, results were declared for Legislative assembly elections of five states, and Congress came out as the obvious show-stealer. It managed to snatch 3 [...]Read More

December 12, 2018
Surprising defeat of the 15 year old government of BJP in Chhattisgarh

BJP’s surprising loss in three significant states has sounded the alarm bells for the party. While the Modi magic has been ruling the country since 2014, many believe the invincibility is now starting to wear off. With the 2019 General Elections just a few months away, it looks like Modi’s “good days” (Acche Din, in his words) might be coming to an end. The recent loss is like a trailer of the bigger picture. Dissatisfaction [...]Read More

December 12, 2018
Congress beats BJP in a close fight in Madhya Pradesh

The results of the 2018 Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh is out, and the Indian National Congress (INC) has beaten the Shivraj Singh Chouhan Singh-led BJP to emerge with maximum seats – 114 out of a total of 230 seats. The final results: Total Seats: 230 Party Seats Number of Votes Vote Share Indian National Congress (INC) 114 15,595,153 40.9% Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 109 15,642,980 41.0% Independent 4 2,218,230 5.8% Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) [...]Read More

December 12, 2018
Vasundhara Raje - Voted Out of Power

The Indian National Congress has managed what a few months back would have seemed impossible – defeated the Vasundhara Raje-led BJP in Rajasthan. Out of a maximum 199 seats, INC won 99 seats, and the BJP ended with 73 seats. The early stages of counting pointed to a rout, but the BJP put up a stronger show to finally close the day with 73 seats. The Congress is set to form the next government in [...]Read More

December 3, 2018
Who will stake a claim on Telangana

The elections heat has made its way over to Telangana this time around. The state goes into polling on December 7, and all the leading parties have swarmed the streets with rallies and promises. Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao, the acting Chief Minister of Telangana is confident that his party would come in for a second consecutive term. However, the march to victory might not turn out to be so smooth, with the opposition in full power [...]Read More

November 24, 2018

  The election fever is here, and it is here with a storm. Without failing expectations, all the parties have marched into action, ready to give their final outcry before the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. In Rajasthan, too, the warhorn has been blown. On one hand, BJP is trying hard to come to power again, with Vasundhara Raje fighting anti-incumbency. On the other, Congress has its own set of tasks. Two major names, namely, ex-Chief [...]Read More

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations