About Tripura

The most prominent fact about Tripura is that it is the second most smallest state of the Indian Nation. Initially, an Union Territory but in the year 1972 the status of Tripura was elevated to a full fledged state.
The very first thing that one notices about Tripura is its natural beauty and its picturesque landscape. The rolling hills, dales, lush green valleys all add an extra dimension to ones understanding about Tripura. Speaking about Tripura as a state, it is divided into three Districts and ten sub- divisions, which includes:

  • Tripura West with Agartala as its headquarter
  • Tripura North with Kailasahar as its headquarter
  • Tripura South which has Udaipur as its headquarter.

    The first mention about Tripura can be found in the Mahabharata and also in the pillar inscription of Asoka. Before Tripura was merged with the Union of India it was a princely state and was ruled by the Manikya dynasty for 3000 years. Udaipur was the capital of Princely Tripura but later under King Krishna Manikya the capital was shifted to old Agartala and it was only in the 19th Century that the present city of Agartala became the capital of the state of Tripura. The most important historical fact about Tripura is its merger with India in 1949, after the Ganamukti Parishad movement.

    A detailed study about Tripura would reveal the diverse ethnic element in the state which involves two major racial groups, they are the Indo-Aryans represented by the Bengali community and the Indo-Mongoloid group comprising of the Reangs, the Jamatis, the Mogh, the Lushai, the Tripuris, the Noatias, the Kukis, the Halams, and the Chakma.

    Last Updated on 15 March 2013



    Which Indian state is the largest producer of bauxite?The state of Odisha is the largest producer of bauxite in India. India has abundant resources of bauxite and serves as a raw material in the production of aluminium. As per the report of the Ministry of Mines, India stood at the 7th position in… Read More...
    Which Indian city is famously known as the "Manchester City of India"?The city of Ahmedabad in the Gujarat state is famously known as the "Manchester City of India". This name was given to this city by a popular textile center in the Manchester of Great Britain, adhering to the striking similarities of Ahmedabad's prospering cotton textile… Read More...
    Which Indian state is the largest producer of coffee?Karnataka state is the largest producer of coffee in India. The state contributed about 70% of the total production of coffee in India during 2016-17 with 2.33 lakh MT coffee production. The main variety of coffee grown in Karnataka is Robusta, but the state also… Read More...

    EU GDPR Update:
    MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
    We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations