Municipal Corporation of Visakhapatnam

The Municipal Corporation of Visakhapatnam was set up as early as in 1858. The Visakhapatnam municipality was formed in order to fulfill the basic infrastructural needs of the people of the city.

The Municipal Corporation of Visakhapatnam is divided into a number of wards in order to facilitate its smooth functioning. The Visakhapatnam Municipality comprises 72 wards, with each ward choosing its councilor through secret ballot. Elections are held once every 5 years. The current Mayor of the Municipal Corporation of Visakhapatnam is Pulusu Janardhana Rao while K Dorabbayi is the deputy Mayor. The municipality is responsible for the supply of clean water, proper sanitation, running of health centers, maintenance of parks and other recreational centers.

The Municipal Corporation of Visakhapatnam is divided into two administrative wings: the Executive Wing and the Deliberative Wing. The Executive Wing is headed by the Commissioner, which is the premier post in the municipality. He is assisted by the additional commissioner and the heads of the different departments of the municipality. The Deliberative Wing is headed by the Mayor, ably supported by the Deputy Mayor. The councilors constitute this wing of the Municipal Corporation of Visakhapatnam.

The Municipal Corporation of Visakhapatnam is divided into 10 departments. These are:
  • Revenue
  • Public Health
  • Water Supply and Sewerage
  • Town Planning
  • Engineering
  • Urban Community Development
  • Sports
  • Town Planning
  • Education
  • Horticulture
  • Information Technology
Besides these departments, the Municipal Corporation of Visakhapatnam also has a department that maintains the birth and death rates of the city residents and and issues necessary certificates. The municipality also regulates property tax and water tax, and issues trade licenses.

Last Updated on: 7/05/2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations