Which States/Union Territories Share Boundaries with Bangladesh?

Map of India Showing States which Share Boundaries with Bangladesh
Map of India depicting States which share boundaries with Bangladesh

Bangladesh emerged as an independent country in 1971. The Indian Army played a key role in the separation of the Bangla speaking region from Pakistan. Before 1971 Bangladesh was the part of Pakistan known as East Pakistan. In the 1971 Indo-Pak war, Pakistani troops had to surrender before India, this led to the birth of another nation in the sub-continent named as Bangladesh.

Five states share a border with Bangladesh

The India-Bangladesh border is considered a peaceful international border. Both nations share a 4,096 km-long international border. This is the fifth-longest land border worldwide. Five Indian states – Assam, West Bengal, Mizoram, Meghalaya, and Tripura shares borders with Bangladesh. West Bengal having the highest length of border shares 2,217 km with Bangladesh. The length of the border with the other four states is- Tripura (856 km), Meghalaya (443 km), Assam (262 km), and Mizoram (318 km).

Below are the India States which share boundaries with Bangladesh:

1. West Bengal

West Bengal is situated in the eastern part of India. It shares borders with two nations Bhutan and Bangladesh. To the east, West Bengal is bounded by Bangladesh. West Bengal shares several borders with Bangladesh.

  • Kolkata-Dhaka via petrapole integrated check post crossing
  • Mahadipur in Malda district in (WB)- Rajshahi (Bangladesh) via Mahadipur crossing in-principle approval in 2019
  • Barasat (WB)-Ghojadanga (Bangladesh), crossing plan announced in October 2017
  • Chandrabangha integrated check post
  • Fulbari plan announced in October 2017
  • Hili plan announced in October 2017

2. Assam

Assam is situated in the north-eastern part of India. Assam shares international borders with two countries Bhutan and Bangladesh. The state is bounded by Bangladesh in the west. Assam also shares numerous borders with Bangladesh.

  • Mankachar Land Customs Stations (India) and Rowmari post (Bangladesh)
  • Karimganj- Beanibazar Upazia of Sylhet District (Assam)- Bangladesh via Sutarkandi integrated check post crossing on NH-37 (India) Sheola post (Bangladesh)
  • Karimganj Steamer and Ferry Station (KSFS) Land Customs Stations (India) and Zakiganj post (Bangladesh)

3. Meghalaya

Meghalaya falls in the North-Eastern part of India. Bangladesh is bounded to the South and South-West of the state. Meghalaya’s border share with Bangladesh.

  • Bagmara Land Customs Stations (India)- Bijoyour post (Bangladesh)
  • Borsara Land Customs Stations (India)-Borsara post (Bangladesh)
  • Mahendraganj-Baksiganj (Bangladesh) international border crossing is at Mahendraganj town in West Garo Hills district in India on NH-12 to Bakshignaj (Bangladesh) is an international crossing
  • Tura-Nalitabari via Dalu crossing on NH-27 (India)- Nakugaon post (Bangladesh)
  • Shillong-Sylhet via Dawki integrated check post crossing (India) and Tambil post (Bangladesh)

4. Tripura

Tripura is situated in the North-Eastern part of India. It shares borders with Bangladesh to the North-West and South. Tripura shares two borders with Bangladesh.

  • Agartala- Dhaka via Agartala integrated check-post (India) and Akhaura check post crossing.
  • Belonia (India)- Parshuram (Bangladesh) road and rail crossing check posts in South Tripura district. It is known for railway connectivity from Santibazar in India to Feni in Bangladesh.

5. Mizoram

Mizoram is located in the North-Eastern part of India. it is bounded by Bangladesh to the west. The state shares one border with Bangladesh.

  • Kawarpuchiah near Tlabung in Lungle district an integrated check post opened in October 2017 by Prime Minister Narendra Modi

India and Bangladesh have had a cordial relationship since the emergence of Bangladesh as a new nation in 1971. Both countries recently inked on several projects which prove the strong bilateral relationship between the two neighbouring countries.

Related Links:

Which States/Union Territories Share Boundaries with Pakistan?

Which States/Union Territories Share Boundaries with China?

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *