Which States/Union Territories Share Boundaries with Nepal?

Map of India Showing States which Share Boundaries with Nepal
Map of India depicting States which share boundaries with Nepal

India and Nepal border is a unique international border because both the countries can cross each other’s borders at any point without a passport or visa. The current border shape was set up after the Sugauly treaty of 1816 between Nepal and British India. After the independence of India in 1947, the current border was recognised as the India-Nepal border.

Below are the India States which share boundaries with Nepal:

Five Indian states – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Sikkim, and Bihar share their borders with the neighbouring country Nepal.

Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh lies in the north-central part of India. It shares various borders with Nepal. It shares a major border crossing with Nepal such as (1) Sonauli, Uttar Pradesh – Siddharth Nagar, Bhairahawa Nepal (2) Rupaidiha, UP – Nepalganj, Nepal. Along with this Uttar Pradesh also shares several small crossing with Nepal such as (3) Barhni, Uttar Pradesh – Krishnanagar of Nepal (4)Tulsipur, Balrampur, UP, – Koilabas, Nepal (5) Tal Baghaura, UP- Laxmanpur, Nepal (6) Dudhwa National Park, UP – Dhangadi, Nepal.


Uttarakhand is in the northern part of the country. It is often referred to as the land of gods due to various Hindu temples and pilgrimage centres found throughout the state. Uttarakhand shares international borders with two countries China (Tibet) in the north and Nepal in the east.

The state’s (1) Banbasa, Uttarakhand- Bhimdatta, Nepal is a major border crossing with Nepal while (2) Jhulaghat, Uttarakhand- Mahakali, Baitadi, Nepal is known as the smaller border crossing of Uttarakhand with Nepal.

West Bengal

West Bengal is in the eastern part of the nation. To the north West Bengal is bounded by Nepal. The state shares a significant border crossing with Nepal, which is called – (1) Panitanki, Darjeeling West Bengal- Kakarbhitta, Nepal. West Bengal also shares a small border with Nepal named (2) Mirik, Darjeeling- Pashupatinagar, Ilam, Nepal.


Sikkim is one of the smallest states in the country, situated in the northeastern part of India. To the west, Sikkim shares its border with Nepal. The Singalila Range separates Sikkim from Nepal in the west.


Bihar falls in the eastern part of India. Bihar shares many borders with Nepal. Some of the major border crossings between Bihar and Nepal is- (1) Jogbani, Bihar – Biratnagar, Nepal, Raxaul – Birgunj, Nepal (also known as Gateway of Nepal). Bihar also shares several small border crossings with Nepal like-(2) Bhimnagar, Bihar – Bhantabari, Sunsari, Nepal (By Kosi barrage) (3) Madhwapur, Bihar – Janakpur, Nepal (4) Bhittamore, Bihar- Jaleshwor, Nepal (5) Sonbarsa, Bihar- Malangwa, Sarlahi, Nepal (6) Bairgania, Bihar – Gaur, Rautahat, Nepal.

The India-Nepal border is by and large peaceful. Find here the names of Indian States which share boundaries with Nepal., thousands of people cross the border every day for their livelihood. People freely go from India to Nepal and vice versa for shopping and tourism.

Related Links:

What is the Origin of India-Nepal Tension?

Which States/Union Territories Share Boundaries with China?

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *