Which State has Given the Highest Number of Prime Ministers?

Map of India Highlighting State which has given Maximum Prime Ministers
Map of India depicting State which has given maximum Prime Ministers

The state of Uttar Pradesh has given India the maximum number of Prime Ministers.

There have been 14 Prime Ministers of the country so far, and eight of them have been from Uttar Pradesh (UP).

The first Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru, was born and contested from UP. He governed India right from its independence till his death, governing the country for several years (15 August 1947 – 27 May 1964).

The second Prime Minister of India was from Varanasi, UP. Lal Bahadur Shastri was a senior leader of the Indian National Congress and also a Nehru loyalist. He was in the office from 9 June 1964 – 11 January 1966.

Indira Gandhi, like her father Jawaharlal Nehru, governed the country for a long period. She was born in Allahabad. She is the first and the only female Prime Minister of India. On the overall ranking, she was the third Prime Minister of India. She served as a central figure of INC and held the PM post from January 1966 to March 1977 and then again from January 1980-October 1984 (the time she was assassinated).

Chaudhary Charan Singh was the fifth Prime Minister of India. He was born in Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh. He contested from Baghpat, UP. He held the office from 28 July 1979 – 14 January 1980.

Rajiv Gandhi, although born in Maharashtra, contested from Amethi, UP constituency. He served in the position of the Prime Minister from 31 October 1984 – 2 December 1989.

Vishwanath Pratap Singh was the seventh Prime Minister of India. He was born in UP and contested from there as well. He served in the position from 2 December 1989 – 10 November 1990.

Chandra Shekhar was the 8th Prime Minister of India. He was born in Ballia, UP. He served the office from 10 November 1990 – 21 June 1991.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the 10th Prime Minister of India. His main term was from 19 March 1998 – 22 May 2004. He contested from Lucknow, UP.

Manmohan Singh was Rajya Sabha MP for Assam and served the post from 2004 to 2010.

Gujarat has given two Prime Ministers to India: Morarji Desai and Narendra Modi. Karnataka again has given us one Prime Minister, H. D. Deve Gowda. From Andhra Pradesh, we have Pamulaparti Venkata Narasimha Rao. I K Gujaral was Rajya Sabha MP for Bihar.

Related Link:

Which State has Given Maximum Presidents of India?

Related Map:

Map of Uttar Pradesh
Uttar Pradesh Map

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *