MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Najafgarh for Delhi Assembly Election

Map of Delhi Showing Location of Najafgarh Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Najafgarh Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi Showing Location of Najafgarh Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Najafgarh Assembly Constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Kailash Gahlot of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Najafgarh with a vote margin of over 81,507 votes. He was contesting election against Ajeet Singh Kharkhari of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP).

Key Facts of Najafgarh Assembly Constituency and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election:

Najafgarh Assembly Constituency is a part of the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. Though it was created in 1993, its present geographical structure came into existence after the implementation of the Delimitation Commissions in 2008.

Till now not a single MLA has won the seat twice. The sitting MLA of the constituency Kailash Gahlot (of Aam Aadmi Party or AAP) has filed nomination again in the 2020 assembly election. If he wins the election this year, he will be the first person to win this assembly seat twice.

The other major candidates in Najafgarh Vidhan Sabha Constituency are Ajeet Singh Kharkhari of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Sahab Singh Yadav of Indian National Congress (INC), Manoj Kumar of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), and an independent candidate Raghunandan.

The 2020 Najafgarh Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Najafgarh Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Najafgarh Assembly Constituency was created in 1993. However, as per the recommendations of the Delimitation Commissions, its geographic structure saw a change in 2008.

  • It is part of the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency and West Delhi district.

  • The major localities in the assembly constituency are Dharampura, Baba Haridass Enclave, Rajeev Vihar, Gulia Enclave, Haibatpura, Gopal Nagar, Dichaon Kalan, Sainik Enclave, Roshan Vihar, Roshan Garden, Prem Nagar, Jharoda Kalan, Jai Vihar, Jaffarpur Kalan, Vinoba Enclave, Ujwa Village, Shiv Enclave, Saraswati Enclave, Samaspur Khalsa, and Todarmal Colony.

  • Najafgarh Assembly constituency in Delhi is dominated by farmers and traders, mainly hailing from the Jat community.

  • Najafgarh Vidhan Sabha Constituency has a huge electorate base of 248,988 with a gender ratio of 886 females per 1,000 males (higher than the state gender ration of 824 females per 1,000 males).

Name of Assembly Constituency


Constituency Type

General (No Reservation)

District Name

West Delhi

Lok Sabha Constituency

West Delhi

Total Registered Voters

2,48,988 total voters

Total Registered Male Voters

Over 1,31,000 male voters

Total Registered Female Voters

1,17,000 female voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

Main Rivals of Najafgarh Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, the main contest will be between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Indian National Congress (INC) candidates in this constituency.

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Kailash Gahlot

 – Sitting MLA from Najafgarh constituency (won his first assembly election in 2015).

 – He is a Cabinet Minister in the 6th Delhi Legislative Assembly. The ministries held by him include Revenue, Administrative Reforms, Information & Technology, Law, Justice and Legislative Affairs, and Transport.

 – Kailash Gahlot is known as a philanthropist, educationist, and an entrepreneur for social change.

 – He is a renowned advocate in both Supreme Court and Delhi High Court.

 – Gahlot got elected as a Member Executive in the High Court of Delhi’s Bar Association.

 – He was born in a Jat family in Najafgarh’s Mitraun village, where his family has been living for more than nine generations.


Ajeet Singh Kharkhari

 – Ajeet Singh Kharkhari hails from a Jat family and his main profession is agriculture.

 – He won the Najafgarh assembly constituency in the 2013 Vidhan Sabha election.

 – Ajeet had also won the Delhi MCD elections in 2002.

 – His major achievement in political life is the upliftment of the unauthorized colonies as well as rural areas.


Sahab Singh Yadav


Manoj Kumar



Main Issues in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Najafgarh Constituency

Najafgarh assembly constituency’s main issues during 2020 Vidhan Sabha election are:

  • A large part of the constituency believes that the sitting MLA Kailash Gahlot has done good work and provided his best performance. Though many MLAs have done good work in the past, almost everyone agrees that AAP’s Kailash Gahlot is the most hardworking of them all. As no candidate has won twice consecutively in this constituency since 1985, it remains to be seen whether he is able to buck the trend this time and creates history.

  • Gehlot is credited with improving roads, making cluster buses reach the last point of villages, better availability of drinking water, and improved sewerage system. The availability of metro rail services has brought this place closer to main Delhi.

  • As Najafgarh is the largest Assembly constituency in Delhi in terms of area, it has multifarious problems, making it tougher for the MLA to solve problems of all the localities in the constituency. There are more than 50 villages in this Vidhan Sabha along with around one hundred unauthorized colonies. The process of regularizing unauthorized colonies is winning brownie points from the residents here.

  • Almost 80% of the Najafgarh assembly constituency belongs to Jat-community. Kailash Gahlot of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Ajeet Singh Kharkhari of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) belong to this community. Both of them have been MLAs from this seat. While Ajeet won in 2013, Gehlot won in 2015. So, both have their own advantages.

  • Free electricity and water for all by the AAP government is hailed by the lower-income and middle-class families. The free bus riding facility for women is also lauded by the working class and middle-class women.

Winners of Najafgarh Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Najafgarh Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Kailash Gahlot won the Najafgarh constituency by defeating Indian National Lok Dal’s (INLD) Bharat Singh by 1,555 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Kailash Gahlot


55,598 votes (34.62%)

1,60,765 votes (69.02%)

Bharat Singh


54,043 votes (33.65%)

Ajeet Singh Kharkhari


39,462 votes (24.57%)

Jai Kishan Sharma


8,180 votes (5.09%)

Ram Singh


1,108 votes (4.60%)

  • In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Kailash Gahlot
  • In 2013, it was won by BJP’s Ajeet Singh Kharkhari

  • In 2008, it was won by Independent candidate Bharat Singh

  • In 2003, it was won by Independent candidate Ranbir Singh Kharb

  • In 1998, it was won by INC’s Kanwal Singh Yadav

  • In 1993, it was won by Independent candidate Suraj Parshad Paliwal