Minister of Parliamentary Affairs: Pralhad Venkatesh Joshi

Pralhad Venkatesh Joshi
Pralhad Venkatesh Joshi is an Indian Politician and a member of Bhartiya Janata Party.
Pralhad Venkatesh Joshi
Pralhad Venkatesh Joshi is an Indian Politician and a member of Bhartiya Janata Party.

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Minister of Coal, and Minister of Mines (May 2019 – Present): Pralhad Venkatesh Joshi

Date of Birth: Joshi was born on November 27, 1962.

Place of Birth: He was born at Vijayapura in Karnataka.

Parents: He was the third child born to Late Venkatesh Joshi and Malatibai Joshi

Spouse: He is married to Jyoti Joshi and they have 3 daughters.

Political Party: He is a member of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Education: He is Bachelor of Arts from K.S. Arts College, Hubli and Karnataka University, Dharwad, Karnataka.

Career: He is an industrialist who has established a chemicals business with some associates. Otherwise, he has always been a politician.

Joshi has always regarded himself as someone who is at the service of mankind. He has been a member of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) from a very young age. He has taken active part in several training camps of this group. He has always been concerned with solving the problems of poor people. This is the reason why he has also been dubbed as the man of the masses. He is primarily concerned with educational and socio-cultural areas.

Joshi has earlier served as the State President of BJP in Karnataka. It was in the early 90s that he first came to public notice. At that time, he was associated with the party as Rastradwaja Horata Samiti Sanchalak. The body started a movement to hoist the Indian flag at the Idgah Maidan in Hubballi that was also known as the Rani Kittur Chennamma Maidan.

Political Milestones: From May 24, 2004 onwards, he has been a Lok Sabha MP (Member of Parliament) from the Dharwad constituency in Karnataka. Over the years, he has been a Member of many important parliamentary committees like Standing Committee on Chemicals & Fertilizers, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Wakf, Standing Committee on Transport, Tourism & Culture, Standing Committee on Railways, Panel of Chairpersons, Lok Sabha, Business Advisory Committee, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, Committee on Ethics, and Chairperson, Standing Committee on Petroleum and Natural Gas (September 2104 onwards).

On May 30, 2019 he became the Union Minister of Mines. It was on the very same day that he was sworn in as the Union Minister of Coal and the Union Minister of Parliamentary Affairs.

Related Links:

Minister of Health and Family Welfare: Dr. Harsh Vardhan

Minister of Railways: Piyush Goyal

Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas: Dharmendra Pradhan