MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Babarpur for Delhi Assembly Election

Map of Delhi Showing Location of Babarpur Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Babarpur Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi Showing Location of Babarpur Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Babarpur Assembly Constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Gopal Rai of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Babarpur with a vote margin of over 84,776 votes. He was contesting election against Naresh Gaur of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and Anveeksha Jain of the Indian National Congress (INC).

Key Facts of Babarpur Assembly Constituency and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election:

Babarpur Assembly Constituency was created in 1993. It is located in the North East Delhi district and is a part of the North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

Gopal Rai (Aam Aadmi Party or AAP) has again filed nomination from the Babarpur assembly seat. The other candidates contesting this seat in the 2020 Delhi Assembly Constituency Election are Naresh Gaur (Bharatiya Janata Party or BJP) and Anveeksha Jain (Indian National Congress or INC).

Babarpur Assembly Constituency has been won four times (1993, 1998, 2008 and 2013) by BJP, once by AAP (2015), and once by INC (2003). Naresh Gaur was the winning candidate for BJP during 1993, 1998, 2008 and 2013. In 2015, it was AAP’s Gopal Rai who defeated BJP’s Naresh Gaur from this constituency. It remains to be seen whether Gopal Rai can hold on to the Muslim and Purvanchali voters to win the constituency again.

The 2020 Babarpur Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Babarpur Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Babarpur is located in the North Shahdara region of Delhi. It is surrounded by Chhajjupur in the east, Seelampur in the south, Maujpur in the west, and Yamuna Vihar in the north. Ghaziabad is its nearest city that is connected to Babarpur with 100 feet road. Metro rail connectivity is also present.

  • Baburpur is a vibrant marketplace consisting of automobile shops (Bajaj, Hero Honda, TVS, Hyundai, Mahindra, Honda, etc.), yog clinic, acupressure, Su-Jok, naturopathy, and many more.

  • Delhi’s Babarpur Assembly Constituency consists of important localities such as Kabir Nagar, Jyoti Colony, West Jyoti Nagar, East Babarpur, Babar Pur Village (East Babar Pur), Chhajjupur (East Babar Pur), West Babarpur, Indira Niketan, North Ghonda, Subhash Mohalla North Ghonda, Ghonda Extn., Ghonda Extn. Noor-E-Ilahi, Maujpur, Vijay Park, Yamuna Vihar, Kardam Puri Extn., Harijan Basti West Jyoti Nagar, Old Kardam Puri, Kardam Puri, Shanti Bazar Wala Road Kabir Nagar, D.D.A Flats West Gorakh Park, New Jafarabad West Gorakh Park, Janta Mazdoor Colony, West Gorakhpark, East Gorakh Park, Balbir Nagar & Balbir Nagar Extn., and Balbir Nagar Extn. Nala Par.

  • There is one hamlet in Babarpur that is earmarked as vulnerable.

  • Babarpur constituency, one of the five Delhi assembly constituencies, has 30-40% of the Muslim population. This chunk of Muslim vote has been voting in favor of AAP in the last 7-years in Babarpur, which was the vote bank of Congress before that.

AAP hasn’t yet taken a decisive stand on the continuing protests regarding NRC and CAA with Muslims leading from the front. It’ll be a challenge for AAP to hold on to the Muslim votes this election as it may again rest its faith in Congress.

However, Gopal Rai’s personal stand on the issue may help him hold on to the Muslim electorates.

Name of Assembly Constituency

Babarpur (created in 1993)

Constituency Type

General (No Reservation)

District Name

North East Delhi

Lok Sabha Constituency

North East Delhi

Total Registered Voters


Total Registered Male Voters

Total Registered Female Voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

Main Rivals of Babarpur Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, the main contest will be between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates in this constituency.

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Gopal Rai

Gopal Rai is incumbent Aam Aadmi Party MLA from Babaurpur assembly constituency and the Minister for Employment, Development, Labour, General Administration and Irrigation in the Delhi Assembly, whose tenure is going to expire on February 22, 2020.

He is currently Aam Aadmi Party’s National Executive member.

Rai started his political career in 1992 with the student movement in Lucknow University. At that time he was a member of the All India Students Association (AISA), the student arm of left-wing CPI(M-L).

Gopal Rai made his electoral debut in the 2013 Delhi Assembly election. He came 3rd by receiving 25,723 votes.

During the 2015 Delhi Assembly election, Rai won the Baburpur constituency with a margin of 35,271 votes.

He is a post-graduate in Sociology.


Naresh Gaur

Naresh Gaur is a 67-year old veteran in Delhi politics who has won the Baburpur assembly constituency four times (1993, 1998, 2008 and 2013). Despite being earmarked by BJP’s internal survey as a weaker candidate in 2013, he went on to win the election by 4,507 votes against Congress’s Zakir Khan.

In 2015, he lost to AAP’s Gopal Rai by 35,271 votes.

In 2003, Gaur lost to Congress’s Vinay Sharma by 4,259 votes.

Naresh Gaur is an advocate by profession.


Anveeksha Tripathi Jain

Anveeksha Tripathi Jain is the daughter-in-law of Kailash Jain (Congress’s District President, Baburpur).

She is a psychologist by profession.

Main Issues in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Babarpur Constituency

Babarpur assembly constituency’s main 2020 election issues are:

  • Local issues are dominating the political landscape in Babarpur constituency. The works done by Gopal Rai in the last 5-years such as the construction of roads, opening of 16 muhalla clinics, replacement of the old cement pipelines, and installation of around 2,000 CCTV cameras in the Babarpur locality are likely to win brownie points for the incumbent MLA. His plan of coming up with a separate constituency-specific manifesto will help him get the lead in this assembly seat.

  • The NRC and CAA issues are likely to backfire on BJP in the Babarpur constituency because of the presence of 30-40% Muslim voters in this assembly seat. The voters who voted for BJP during the Lok Sabha election in 2019 are likely to vote for Gopal Rai in this assembly election.

Winners of Babarpur Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Babarpur Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Gopal Rai won the Babarpur constituency defeated BJP’s Naresh Gaur by 35,271 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Gopal Rai


76,179 votes (59.14%)

1,28,822 votes (66.97%)

Naresh Gaur


40,908 votes (31.76%)

Zakir Khan


9,952 votes (7.73%)

Mohd. Abdul Haq


765 votes (0.59%)

  • In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Gopal Rai
  • In 2013, it was won by BJP’s Naresh Gaur

  • In 2008, it was won by BJP’s Naresh Gaur

  • In 2003, it was won by INC’s Vinay Sharma

  • In 1998, it was won by BJP’s Naresh Gaur

  • In 1993, it was won by BJP’s Naresh Gaur

Related Link:

Babarpur Map