MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Karol Bagh for Delhi Elections 2020

Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Karol Bagh Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Karol Bagh Assembly Constituency
Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Karol Bagh Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Karol Bagh Assembly Constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Vishesh Ravi of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Karol Bagh with a vote margin of over 67,494 votes. He was contesting election against Yogender Chandoliya of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP).

Key Facts of Karol Bagh Assembly Constituency and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election:

Karol Bagh assembly constituency has always been a stronghold of BJP since 1993. Surendra Pal Ratawal of the saffron party has won thrice from this constituency (1993, 2003, and 2008). However, a rebellion within BJP took place before the 2013’s assembly election, leading to BJP’s defeat. Since then AAP’s Vishesh Ravi has been winning the seat (2013 and 2015).

The major candidates of the Karol Bagh assembly constituency in the 2020 Vidhan Sabha Election are sitting MLA Vishesh Ravi of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Yogender Chandoliya of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Gourav Kumar of Indian National Congress (INC).

The 2020 Karol Bagh Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Karol Bagh Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Karol Bagh Assembly Constituency was created in 1993.

  • It is part of the New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency and North Delhi & Central Delhi districts.

  • The major localities in Karol Bagh Vidhan Sabha constituency are Bapa Nagar, Ahata Thakar Dass, Near Sarai Rohilla Rlwy Station, Dev Nagar, Rameshwari Nehru Nagar, New Rohtak Road, Regar Pura, Raigar Pura, New Rohtak Road, Gaushala Marg, Beadon Pura, Db Gupta Road, Naiwala, Tibbia College, Ramjas Road, Mohalla Bhagraoji, Gaushala Baradari, Joshi Road, Sidhipura, Faiz Road, Manak Pura, Doriwalan, Kishan Ganj, Katra Ganga Bishan, Manak Pura, Jhandewalan, Aram Bagh, Ambedkar Bhawan, Multani Dhanda, Motia Khan, Chuna Mandi, Kaseruwalan, Mantola, Shora Kothi, Laddu Ghati, Main Bazar Pahar Ganj, Railway Colony Basant Road, and Arya Nagar.

  • The sex ratio of the constituency is 821 females per 1,000 males (lesser than the Delhi average of 824 females per 1,000 males).

  • Karol Bagh assembly constituency is located in central Delhi. It consists of commercial as well as residential areas.

    • Most noted residential areas here are Bapa Nagar, Dev Nagar, W.E.A, Beadon Pura, and Reghar Pura.

    • Some of the famous and busiest market places in Delhi are located in Karol Bagh Vidhan Sabha constituency such as Ghaffar Market, Tank Road Market, Ajmal Khan Road, Desh Bandhu Gupta Road, etc.

    • Karol Bagh is also a major educational hub, which includes two colleges of the Delhi University as well as a wide array of IAS coaching institutes.

  • Dalit voters form 25-30% of the total electorates in Karol Bagh. People from Regar, a sub-caste of Dalits, community have a significant population in this assembly seat.

  • A large population of Bengali and Tamil speaking people lives in this area.

Name of Assembly Constituency

Karol Bagh

Constituency Type

Reserved for the Scheduled Castes (SC)

District Name

North Delhi and Central Delhi districts

Lok Sabha Constituency

New Delhi

Total Registered Voters

1,64,742 total voters

Total Registered Male Voters

90,449 male voters

Total Registered Female Voters

74,285 female voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

8 transgender voters

Main Rivals of Karol Bagh Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, the main contest will be between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates in this constituency.

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Vishesh Ravi

 – He has won the Karol Bagh Vidhan Sabha constituency twice (2013 and 2015).

 – Ravi is a businessperson by profession.


Yogender Chandoliya

 – Yogender Chandoliya was the standing committee chairperson of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD).

 – He is also the councilor of MCD’s Dev Nagar area.

 – He belongs to the Regar sub-caste of the Dalit community, which has a significant population in this constituency.


Gourav Kumar

 – He has got the Congress ticket to contest from Karol Bagh assembly constituency.


Lekhraj Jatav


Nathu Ram

Shiv Sena



Deepak Kumar


Dharmender Kanwar


Rahul Bharti



Main Issues/Factors in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Karol Bagh Constituency

Karol Bagh assembly constituency’s main issues/factors in 2020 Vidhan Sabha election are:

  • The major election issues during the 2020 Delhi Vidhan Sabha election are illegal hawkers, inadequate parking space and traffic snarls.

  • Lack of fire preparedness is a major problem in commercial establishments in Karol Bagh. The problem reached its peak in February last year when a massive fire broke out in the area from a four-floor hotel. It went on to kill at least 17 guests.

  • The crumbling infrastructure in Karol Bagh locality is yet another major problem.

Winners of Karol Bagh Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Karol Bagh Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Vishesh Ravi defeated BJP’s Yogender Chandoliya by 32,880 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Vishesh Ravi

AAP (Aam Aadmi Party)

67,429 votes (59.80%)

1,12,751 votes (68%)

Yogender Chandoliya

BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party)

34,549 votes (30.64%)

Madan Khorwal

INC (Indian National Congress)

9,144 votes (8.10%)


BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party)

559 votes (0.50%)

  • In 2020, is it won by AAP’s Vishesh Ravi
  • In 2013, it was won by AAP’s Vishesh Ravi

  • In 2008, it was won by BJP’s Surendra Pal Ratawal

  • In 2003, it was won by BJP’s Surendra Pal Ratawal

  • In 1998, it was won by INC’s Moti Lal Bokolia

  • In 1993, it was won by BJP’s Surendra Pal Ratawal

Related Link:

Karol Bagh Map