MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Patel Nagar for Delhi Elections 2020

Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Patel Nagar Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Patel Nagar Assembly Constituency
Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Patel Nagar Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting the location of Patel Nagar Assembly Constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Raaj Kumar Anand of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Patel Nagar with a vote margin of over 73,463 votes i.e. 60.81%. He was contesting election against Pravesh Ratn of Bhartiya Janata Party.

Key Facts of Patel Nagar Assembly Constituency and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election:

Patel Nagar assembly constituency includes localities from all income groups. Upper-middle-class and middle-class areas, as well as lower-middle-class colonies, are there in the constituency.

It was a Congress-dominated constituency from 1998 to 2008 assembly elections. BJP has won this seat only once (1993). However, the scenario changed after the arrival of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Since 2013, this assembly seat is won by AAP. In the 2015 Delhi Assembly election, AAP’s Hazari Lal Chauhan won by around 35,000 over BJP’s Krishna Tirath.

The major candidates of the Patel Nagar assembly constituency in the 2020 Vidhan Sabha Election are Raj Kumar Anand of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Pravesh Ratan of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Krishna Tirath of Indian National Congress (INC).

The 2020 Patel Nagar Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Patel Nagar Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Patel Nagar Assembly Constituency was created in 1993.

  • It is part of the New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency now. Once the Karol Bagh Lok Sabha constituency was dissolved in 2008, it was included in the New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

  • The major localities in Patel Nagar Vidhan Sabha constituency are Patel Nagar, Dms Patel Nagar, Nehru Nagar, Anand Parbat Than Singh Nagar, Baljeet Nagar, West Patel Nagar, Parsad Nagar, New Ranjit Nagar, DTC Colony Patel Nagar, New Ranjit Nagar (Dda Flats), Shadi Khampur, Shadipur, South Patel Nagar, and Old Ranjit Nagar.

  • The sex ratio of the constituency is 830 females per 1,000 males (more than Delhi’s average of 824 females per 1,000 males).

  • People from all kinds of income groups live in this assembly constituency. Patel Nagar Vidhan Sabha includes upper-middle-class areas, middle-class, and lower-middle-class colonies.

    • Ranjeet Nagar, Rajendra Place, and East and West Patel Nagar are the upper-middle-class areas in this assembly constituency.

    • Prem Nagar and Baljit Nagar are the middle-class areas in Patel Nagar constituency.

    • Shadipur, Punjabi Basti, and Faridpuri are the lower-middle-class colonies in this Vidhan Sabha seat.

  • One of the most dominant communities in this constituency is the Jatav community, which is a sub-caste of Dalits.

Name of Assembly Constituency

Patel Nagar

Constituency Type

Reserved for the Scheduled Caste (SC) Candidates

District Name

West Delhi and Central Delhi districts

Lok Sabha Constituency

New Delhi

Total Registered Voters

1,71,213 total voters

Total Registered Male Voters

93,550 male voters

Total Registered Female Voters

77,661 female voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

2 transgender voters

Main Rivals of Patel Nagar Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 Delhi assembly election, the main contest will be between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidates in this constituency.

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Raaj Kumar Anand

 – Raaj Kumar Anand and his wife Veena Anand are Dalit activists. They had left AAP during the 2015 Delhi Assembly elections due to certain confusion and differences of opinion. However, the husband-wife activist duo rejoined AAP in July 2019 in the presence of Delhi Chief Minister and AAP’s National Convener Arvind Kejriwal.

 – Raaj Kumar Anand’s wife Veena Anand contested had contested the Patel Nagar seat in 2013 assembly election and won against BJP’s Poornima Vidyarthi by over 6,000 votes. However, in 2015 she contested as an independent but received just 1,051 votes.

 – He was Delhi High Court Bar Association President.


Pravesh Ratn

 – He is the Secretary BJP District Karol Bagh.


Krishna Tirath

 – She won the North West Delhi constituency on a Congress ticket in 2009 and went on to become Minister of State (Independent Charge) in the Ministry of Women and Child Development during 15th Lok Sabha (second Manmohan Singh ministry).

 – She became a Member of Parliament twice (2004 and 2009).

 – Krishna Tirath started her political career by becoming an MLA from Delhi and went on to become the Minister for Social Welfare, SC & ST and Labour & Employment during Sheila Dixit government.

 – Former union minister Krishna Tirath had contested the last assembly election on a BJP ticket after joining the saffron party on January 19, 2015. However, in March 2019 she left BJP and joined INC again. She is now contesting Patel Nagar on an INC ticket.


Pradeep Kumar Rawal

Main Issues/Factors in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Patel Nagar Constituency

Patel Nagar assembly constituency’s main issues/factors in 2020 Vidhan Sabha election are:

  • A rapid growth in the rapid commercial and residential areas has led to illegal constructions in many buildings. The markets and colonies are becoming cramped. This excess load is leading to the collapse of the sewerage and drainage system. Taking care of this issue is a primary demand for the electorates in the Patel Nagar assembly constituency.

  • The basic civic issues including power, water, and roads are taken care of well. That’s why proper maintenance is the only demand of the residents here.

  • In the 2020 Delhi Assembly election, AAP has denied ticket to the sitting MLA Hazari Lal Chauhan and instead given the ticket to one of the richest candidates in this election, Raaj Kumar Anand (whose declared assets is Rs 76 crore).

Winners of Patel Nagar Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Patel Nagar Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Hazari Lal Chauhan defeated BJP’s Krishna Tirath by 34,638 votes. Hazari Lal Chauhan received the highest amount of votes (68,868) in this constituency since 1993.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Hazari Lal Chauhan

AAP (Aam Aadmi Party)

68,868 votes (59.05%)

1,16,620 votes (68.13%)

Krishna Tirath

BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party)

34,230 votes (29.35%)

Rajesh Lilothia

INC (Indian National Congress)

10,766 votes (9.23%)

Veena Anand


1,051 votes (0.90%)

Alok Nanadan

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)

772 votes (0.66%)

  • In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Raaj Kumar Anand
  • In 2013, it was won by AAP’s Veena Anand

  • In 2008, it was won by INC’s Rajesh Lilothia

  • In 2003, it was won by INC’s Rama Kant Goswami

  • In 1998, it was won by INC’s Rama Kant Goswami

  • In 1993, it was won by BJP’s Mewa Ram Arya