MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Seemapuri for Delhi Assembly Election

Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Seemapuri Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Seemapuri Assembly Constituency
Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Seemapuri Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Seemapuri Assembly Constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Rajendra Pal Gautam of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Seemapuri with a vote margin of over 88,392 votes.

Key Facts of Seemapuri Assembly Constituency and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election:

Seemapuri Assembly Constituency (a part of the North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency) is a reserved seat for the Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has been winning the seat (2013 and 2015 assembly elections) since 2013. However, earlier it was a Congress stronghold as INC’s Veer Singh Dhingan won the seat thrice (during 1998, 2003, and 2008 assembly elections).

In the 2020 assembly election, the sitting AAP MLA Rajendra Pal Gautam has again filed nomination from the Seemapuri assembly seat. The other major candidates of this constituency are Veer Singh Dhingan of Indian National Congress (INC), and Santlal Chawaria of the Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJP). As Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has an alliance with LJP, they haven’t given any candidate from this seat.

The 2020 Seemapuri Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Seemapuri Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Seemapuri Assembly Constituency was created in 1993.

  • It is part of the North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

  • This assembly seat is located within the North East Delhi district.

  • The major localities in Seemapuri assembly constituency are Nand Nagri, GTB Enclave, Sunder Nagari, Dilashad Colony, Dilshad Garden, Khera Village, Jagatpuri Extension, Gtb Hospital Campus, Janta Flats Gtb Enclave, Tahirpur Village, New Seemapuri, and Tahirpur.

  • This constituency has multifarious demography, which includes people from all religions (including Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs, etc.), Malayali community, and all income groups.

  • Muslims and low-income migrant families are the dominant populations in Seemapuri Vidhan Sabha seat. They are mainly daily wage earners and live in the border location of Seemapuri. This area suffers from rampant criminal activities such as chain/mobile snatching, pick-pocketing, murders, etc.

  • The salaried and high-income population mainly lives in localities such as Dilshad Garden, New Seema Puri, GTB Enclave, Sundar Nagri, and Nand Nagri.

Name of Assembly Constituency


Constituency Type

Reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates

District Name

North East Delhi

Lok Sabha Constituency

North East Delhi

Total Registered Voters


Total Registered Male Voters

Total Registered Female Voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

Main Rivals of Seemapuri Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, the main contest will be between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Indian National Congress (INC), and Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJP) candidates in this constituency. –

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Rajendra Pal Gautam

 – He is the sitting MLA from Seemapuri assembly constituency. Rajendra Pal Gautam won the last assembly election at a margin of 48,821 votes against BJP’s Karamvir.

 – In the Sixth Legislative Assembly of Delhi, Rajendra Pal Gautam is the cabinet Minister of Social Welfare, SC & ST, Gurudwara Elections, Water and Registrar of Cooperative Societies.

 – He is also a member of Aam Aadmi Party’s National Executive.

 – He is a law graduate from Delhi University.


Veer Singh Dhingan

 – Veer Singh Dhingan won the Seemapuri assembly constituency thrice (2008, 2003, and 1998) before being defeated by AAP’s Dharmender Singh in 2013. Though he came third in the last assembly election, he is expected to give a tough fight to AAP’s Rajendra Pal Gautam.

 – Dhingan is a political veteran, who is active in politics since 1975.

 – He was the member of the Committee on Delegated Legislation, Public Accounts Committee, and Welfare of SC/ST/OBCs Committee.

LJP (backed by BJP)

Santlal Chawaria

Main Issues in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Seemapuri Constituency

Seemapuri assembly constituency’s main issues during 2020 assembly election are:

  • This assembly segment suffers from acute water crisis and electricity-related problems. This is mainly predominant in the slum and irregular areas.

  • The presence of many scrap yards in the localities leads to the accumulation of garbage in many places, thereby increasing pollution problems.

  • Illegal encroachment by many carpenters and furniture shops has made the traffic problem worse. The absence of traffic police has only worsened the traffic snarl.

  • Seemapuri assembly constituency has hardly seen any developmental works in the last five years. As there are a “limited number of agencies that were authorized to take up work”, the MLAs are finding it difficult to utilize the SC/ST welfare fund, the sitting MLA Rajendra Pal Gautam reasoned.

Winners of Seemapuri Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Seemapuri Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Rajendra Pal Gautam won the Seemapuri constituency by defeating BJP’s Karamvir by 48,821 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Rajendra Pal Gautam


79,777 votes (63.04%)

1,26,640 votes (73.29%)



30,956 votes (24.46%)

Veer Singh Dhingan


10,674 votes (8.44%)

Jai Shree


4,103 votes (3.24%)

  • In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Rajendra Pal Gautam
  • In 2013, it was won by AAP’s Dharmender Singh

  • In 2008, it was won by INC’s Veer Singh Dhingan

  • In 2003, it was won by INC’s Veer Singh Dhingan

  • In 1998, it was won by INC’s Veer Singh Dhingan

  • In 1993, it was won by BJP’s Balbir Singh