MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Malviya Nagar for Delhi Assembly Election

Map of Delhi Showing Location of Malviya Nagar Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Malviya Nagar constituency
Map of Delhi Showing Location of Malviya Nagar Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Malviya Nagar constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Somnath Bharti of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Malviya Nagar with a vote margin of over 52,043 votes. He was contesting election against Neetu Verma Soin of Bhartiya Janata Party.


Malviya Nagar Key Facts and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election

Malviya Nagar Assembly Constituency is going to be a litmus test for the two-time MLA Somnath Bharti, who won the constituency twice (2015 and 2013). This constituency was a Congress-stronghold from 1998 to 2008 (won twice by Dr. Yoganand Shashtri in 1998 and 2003 followed by Kiran Walia in 2008). Congress mainly won the Malviya Nagar Assembly seat thrice by receiving the votes of Jats, Gurjars, and the trader community. BJP has won this seat only once (back in 1993), the year when this constituency was created.

Somnath Bharti (Aam Aadmi Party or AAP) has again filed nomination from the Malviya Nagar assembly seat in the 2020 Delhi Assembly election. Congress’s Neetu Verma and BJP’s Shailendra Singh Monti are expected to throw tough challenges to the incumbent MLA of the constituency in the 2020 Delhi Assembly Constituency Election. Gyanchand Gautam of BSP is another candidate contesting from this assembly seat.

The 2020 Malviya Nagar Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Malviya Nagar Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Malviya Nagar Assembly Constituency was created in 1993. South Delhi’s Malviya Nagar area is also a part of this assembly segment.

  • It is part of the New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency since the delimitation of the parliamentary constituencies in 2008. Prior to that, it was part of the South Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

  • Malviya Nagar Assembly Constituency is located in the New Delhi district. The locality is situated between Hauz Khas and Saket. It is close to IIT Delhi.

  • The major localities in this assembly constituency are Safdarjung Enclave, Safdarjung Development Area Bhim Nagri, Arjun Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Humayun Pur Village, Green Park Main, Green Park Extension, Yusuf Sarai, Yusuf Srai & Green Park Extension, Jia Sarai, Iit Campus, Adhchini & Ncert, Ncert, Qutub Institutional Area, Gulmohar Park, Niti Bagh, Uday Park, Hauz Khas, Hauz Khas Enclave, Hauz Khas Village, May Fair Garden, Masjid Moth, Gautam Nagar, Padmini Enclave, Sona Appartment, Sarvpriya Vihar, Navketan Group Housing Society, Kalu Sarai Village, Begum Pur Village, Begum Pur Indra Camp, Begum Pur Balmilki Camp, Sarvodaya Enclave, Adchini Village, Stc Colony, MMTC Colony, Police Training School, Geetanjali & Navjivan Vihar, Geetanjali & Malviya Nagar, Shivalik, Malviya Nagar, Hauz Rani, and Khirki Village.

  • The constituency was named after Madan Mohan Malviya, a renowned educator, founder of BHU (Banaras Hindu University), and freedom fighter.

  • After the partition of India in 1947, a large part of the population from Pakistan moved to one of the many localities in and around Delhi including Malviya Nagar.

  • A large part of the population belongs to multiple ethnicities, mainly Rajasthani, Uttar Pradesh, Punjabis, Haryanvis, and Sindhis. Jats, Gurjars, and the trader community have significant vote share in Malviya Nagar assembly constituency.

  • Some of the major landmarks in the Malviya Nagar assembly constituencies are Mughal era monuments (including the tombs of Shaikh Kaliruuddin called Lal Gumbad and Sufi saint Sheikh Yusuf Qattal), two major commercial shopping areas, and a specialty hospital.

Name of Assembly Constituency

Malviya Nagar (created in 1993)

Constituency Type

General (No Reservation)

District Name

Malviya Nagar

Lok Sabha Constituency

Malviya Nagar

Total Registered Voters


Total Registered Male Voters

76,579 men voters

Total Registered Female Voters

63,531 women voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

13 third gender voters

Main Rivals of Malviya Nagar Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, the main contest will be between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Indian National Congress (INC) candidates in this constituency.

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Somnath Bharti

Somnath Bharti has won the Malviya Nagar assembly seat twice (2013 and 2015). He doubled his winning margin in 2015 in comparison to 2013.

He became the Minister of Law, Tourism, Administrative Reforms, Art & Culture during December 28, 2013-February 14, 2014.

Bharti was a post-graduate from IIT Delhi and also pursued a law degree from Delhi University.

In 2008, he was the IIT Delhi Senator. In 2007-08 and 2011–12, Somnath Bharti was the Secretary of the IIT Delhi Alumni Association.


Shailendra Singh Monty

Shailendra Singh Monty is a political veteran of BJP who became a councilor of South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) in 2007 and 2012.

He was a Member of the Delhi Jal Board during 2008-2010.

During 2016-2017, Shailendra Singh Monty became: Chairman of the Health Committee, Chairman of the Appointment and Disciplinary Committee, Chairman of South Zone, and Chairman of Standing Committee.


Neetu Verma Soin

Neetu Verma Soin in-charge of the Mahila Congress in Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, and Rajasthan.

She was the former DUSU president.

Neetu Verma Soin had won DUSU elections thrice during 1999-2002.

She also became a councilor in MCD and for a stretch of six months in 2002, Neetu served both councilor and DUSU president’s positions.


Gyanchand Gautam

Main Issues in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Malviya Nagar Constituency

Malviya Nagar assembly constituency’s main 2020 election issues are:

  • The main issue in this constituency is the non-achievement of 24-hour water supply, which was expected to be fulfilled by the Malviya Nagar Water Services (MNWS). Chief Minister and DJB Chairman Arvind Kejriwal also had to take stock of the issue during mid-2019. The area gets just three-hour water-supply a day.

  • In the upmarket areas of the assembly constituency such as Malviya Nagar, Safdarjung Enclave, and Hauz Khas, many voters are disenchanted about the freebies doled out by the AAP-government. There is a sense among the upmarket electorates that the public money is being uselessly spent by the Delhi government.

  • Lack of focus on infrastructural development is yet another complaint of the voters in this assembly constituency.

  • Though many voters say that Somnath Bharati is a good person, they feel that there is a lack of employment opportunities and the money is being spent uselessly in freebies for vote-bank politics.

Winners of Malviya Nagar Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Malviya Nagar Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Somnath Bharti won the Malviya Nagar constituency by defeating BJP’s Dr. Nandini Sharma by 15,897 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Somnath Bharti


51,196 votes (54.98%)

93,105 votes (67.39%)

Dr. Nandini Sharma


35,299 votes (37.91%)

Dr. Yoganand Shastri


5,555 votes (5.96%)

Dr. Suman Dharmvir


293 votes (0.31%)

  • In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Somnath Bharti
  • In 2013, it was won by AAP’s Somnath Bharti
  • In 2008, it was won by INC’s Kiran Walia

  • In 2003, it was won by INC’s Dr. Yoganand Shashtri

  • In 1998, it was won by INC’s Dr. Yoganand Shashtri

  • In 1993, it was won by BJP’s Rajendra Gupta