MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Rajinder Nagar for Delhi Assembly Election

Map of Delhi Showing Location of Rajinder Nagar Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Rajinder Nagar constituency
Map of Delhi Showing Location of Rajinder Nagar Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Rajinder Nagar constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Raghav Chadha of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Rajinder Nagar with a vote margin of over 59,135 votes. He was contesting election against Sardar RP Singh of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP).

Rajinder Nagar Key Facts and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election

Rajinder Nagar Assembly Constituency was originally a Punjabi colony with a significant population of Sikhs, Jats, Yadavs, and Purvanchalis. It is predominantly an upper-middle-class locality. It is a BJP-stronghold (which was won by the party from 1993 to 2003 and then again in the 2013 election). However, the AAP-surge in the last assembly election dethroned BJP from this constituency.

Raghav Chadha (Aam Aadmi Party or AAP) has filed nomination from the Rajinder Nagar assembly seat by replacing the incumbent MLA Vijender Garg Vijay. It is going to be a triangular contest between AAP’s Raghav Chadha, the Sikh face of BJP and local candidate RP Singh (who won the seat in 2013), and the former DUSU president (2017-18) Rocky Tuseed (youngest candidate in Delhi assembly who is just 25-years old) of Congress.

The 2020 Rajinder Nagar Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Rajinder Nagar Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Rajinder Nagar Assembly Constituency is part of the New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency and New Delhi district.

  • Rajinder Nagar Assembly Constituency is predominantly an upper-middle-class locality.

  • It primarily developed as a Punjabi refugee colony in the 1950s after the partition in 1947. Over the years a sharp demographic change has taken place. A substantial population of Purvanchalis (migrants from Bihar, Jharkhand, and Eastern Uttar Pradesh) now resides in places like Pandav Nagar, Naraina Vihar, and Inderpuri. While Dasghara is Jat-dominated, Todapur is Yadav-dominated.

  • Though Sikhs are only 5% of the Delhi population, they can be decisive in Rajinder Nagar constituency in case of a close contest. Keeping this aspect in mind, BJP has fielded their Sikh face RP Singh, who had won the constituency in 2013 but lost to AAP’s candidate by around 20,000 votes in the 2015 election. Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee (DSGMC) is a cash-rich religious community that carries out many social works including running of hospitals, schools, and colleges. Sikhs exert their clout in the Delhi assembly election by helping candidates financially and socially. Their vote swing will have a significant effect on the fate of the candidates this election.

  • Winning the votes of Purvanchalis and Sikhs will place a candidate in a leading position in this election.

Name of Assembly Constituency

Rajinder Nagar

Constituency Type

General (No Reservation)

District Name

Rajinder Nagar

Lok Sabha Constituency

Rajinder Nagar

Total Registered Voters

Total Registered Male Voters

Total Registered Female Voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

Main Rivals of Rajinder Nagar Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, the main contest will be between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates in this constituency.

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Raghav Chadha

 – A lawyer by profession, Raghav Chadha is a leading politician in Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

 – He’s a member of AAP’s Political Affairs Committee. Chadha is the national spokesperson as well as the national treasurer of his party.

 – Raghav fought from the South Delhi parliamentary constituency in the 2019 Lok Sabha election but lost to BJP’s Ramesh Bidhuri.


RP Singh

 – RP Singh is a former MLA (2013) in Rajinder Nagar Constituency but lost to AAP’s Vijender Garg Vijay in the 2015 assembly election.

 – A Sikh face, RP Singh is currently the national secretary of Delhi BJP. He is also the national spokesperson of the party.


Rocky Tuseed

 – Rocky Tuseed is the youngest candidate in the Delhi assembly election, who is just 25 years old.

 – The newcomer in electoral politics was the former DUSU president (2017-2018).

 – Congress fielded this young candidate in the Rajendra Nagar constituency to compete AAP’s young face Raghav Chadha.

Main Issues in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Rajinder Nagar Constituency

Rajinder Nagar assembly constituency’s main 2020 election issues are:

  • Local issues will dominate the assembly election in Rajinder Nagar constituency. Some of the local issues that will impact voting decisions are electricity, water supply, education, sewer system, free bus ride, and others.

The freebies and other social welfare works (such as free bus rides for women, mohalla clinics, cheap electricity, toilets, better public education system, and others) done by the Kejriwal government has become very popular among women and lower-income families. Some say the freebies and other social welfare schemes of the AAP government will help a family save Rs. 8,000 per month. This will be especially lucrative for families who have to sustain large families out of limited means.

  • CAA and NRC will have the least impact in the Delhi assembly polls.

  • Raghav Chadha is a South Delhi resident and this issue is highlighted by both BJP and INC candidates, who are locals.

Winners of Rajinder Nagar Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Rajinder Nagar Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Vijender Garg Vijay won the Rajinder Nagar constituency by defeating BJP’s R. P. Singh by 20,051 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Vijender Garg Vijay


61,354 votes (53.39 %)

1,14,907 votes (62.99%)

R. P. Singh


41,303 votes (35.94 %)

Brahm Yadav


8,971 votes (7.80 %)

Prem Singh


1,467 votes (1.27%)

  • In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Raghav Chadha
  • In 2013, it was won by BJP’s R. P. Singh

  • In 2008, it was won by INC’s Rama Kant Goswami

  • In 2003, it was won by BJP’s Puran Chand Yogi

  • In 1998, it was won by BJP’s Puran Chand Yogi

  • In 1993, it was won by BJP’s Puran Chand Yogi