General Elections 2019 – Day 58

General Elections 2019 - Day 58

General Elections 2019 - Day 58

AAP poses 5 big questions to PM Modi ahead of today’s rally in Delhi

As Delhi gears up to vote on 12 May, the Prime Minister is holding a big rally at the Ram Lila Maidan. The 7 Lok Sabha seats of Delhi offers more than just numbers; it offers symbolic power as it is also the country’s capital.

Full statehood has been a long-standing demand, and while many political parties have promised full statehood, few have shown the commitment to follow through. The people of Delhi have expectations and seek answers form those who wish to govern it.

AAP came to power on the promise of fighting corruption and promising full statehood to Delhi in 2014. BJP too promised full statehood, and now the city faces a three-cornered contest between AAP, BJP and the Congress.

Speaking to the media ahead of the Prime Minister’s big rally, APP Delhi unit convener Gopal Rai posed five questions before PM Modi. He reminded the PM of his promise of full statehood from the same venue in 2014 and asked the OM to answer why he lied about it.

Rai asked why Delhi was granted on Rs 325 crore when it contributed Rs 1.5 lakh crore each year in tax collections.

Next, he wanted to know why the citizens of Delhi were treated as second-class citizens despite voting for all seven BJP MPs.

Touching upon the sensitive topic of the sealing of unauthorized business establishments, he asked why an ordinance was not introduced to stop the drive against the trader community.

Lastly, he wanted to know why the BJP had not released a city-specific manifesto clearly defining its agenda going forward.

Delhi votes on 12 May.

Priyanka Gandhi steps in to support Sheila Dikshit in East Delhi

Priyanka Gandhi was the star attraction during ex-CM Sheila Dikshit roadshow in north-east Delhi, a Lok Sabha constituency Congress fared badly in 2014. Both ladies drew lots of crowds, but it was Priyanka Gandhi’s presence that was the talking point among the excited crowds.

In 2014, Manoj Tiwari (BJP) won the seat getting 45.23 percent vote share followed by Anand Kumar (AAP) with 34.30 percent vote share. JP Agarwal was a distant third with 16.30 percent votes.

So, this year, Sheila Dikshit believes she can swing it for the Congress. Given her age, this will probably be her last attempt for making a comeback.

Sheila Dikshit has a strong legacy of development in the city with bragging rights for the metro, a world-class airport, and a series of flyovers under her leadership.

Phase 6 to test money and muscle power in Bihar

The Phase 6 of polling will take place on 12 May, and eight constituencies of Bihar will cast their vote – Siwan, Gopalganj, Sheohar, Maharajganj, Vaishali, Valmikinagar, Paschimi Champaran, and Purvi Champaran.

The Hindustan Times has published an article mentioning a report released by Bihar Election Watch and Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR), the highest number of the 127 candidates in fray in this Phase have criminal records. It includes 44 male and 15 female candidates listed as self-declared crorepatis.

Every party has put up candidates with criminal records; 34 of 44 candidates have serious criminal charges against them including murder, extortion, kidnapping, and rape.

It highlights the failure of the political system in keeping out these elements from the electoral process, and Bihar, unfortunately, seems to lead in this matter.

Is Patiala ready to give Preneet Kaur (Cong) another chance?

Preneet Kaur is the wife of present CM of Punjab Capt. Amrinder Singh and an ex-MP from Patiala, a seat she has held in 1999, 2004 and 2009. She lost to AAP candidate Dr Dharmavira Gandhi in 2014 by 20,942 votes.

Dr Dhramavira Gandhi has left AAP and is now contesting on a Nawaan Punjab Party ticket. The AAP candidate is Neena Mittal. Preneet Kaur’s big challenge remains Dr Dharmavira Gandhi, as he retains his support base despite leaving AAP which is now a far weaker party compared to 2014. It’s also a prestigious battle for the CM who is going all out to ensure Preneet Kaur wins the Patiala seat.