PM Modi splits Council of Ministers into 8 teams, aims at improving governance

The Modi government is planning to bring in young professionals, solicit suggestions from retiring personnel, and make the proper techniques for monitoring and evaluation, among other steps that will be supervised by eight different groups comprised of members from the whole Council of Ministers.

The 77 ministers have been divided into 8 groups to grow technology-based facilities, create a group of specialists for recruiting in their teams, and implement other various initiatives in the offices of all ministers to bring more clarity and enhance the productivity of the Modi government.

This process of putting the ministers into eight groups came after a series of ‘Chintan Shivirs’ (brainstorming meetings) of the whole council, each of which lasted about five hours and PM Narendra Modi headed it.

There were five of these sessions, one each on Personal Efficiency, Focused Implementation, Ministry Functioning, Stakeholder Engagement, Party Coordination, Effective Communication, and Parliamentary Practices. The Lok Sabha Speaker Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu and Om Birla participated in the most recent brainstorming session.

All of these talks were primarily aimed at enhancing the Modi government’s productivity and delivery system. The formation of groups is another step in that direction, with the overarching goal of improving governance by making ministers more active. All 77 ministers on the council are members of one of these eight groups, which each have 9 to 10 ministers and one Union minister appointed as a group coordinator.

Among its task, given to these groups is the creation of a gateway in each minister’s office that provides updated information on the effectiveness of the Centre’s flagship programs and policies, a dashboard for tracking decisions that the respective ministers make, and a structure for scheduling meetings and managing interactions.

They have also been tasked with developing stakeholder engagement programs and creating profiles for all districts, states, and ministries. One of the groups has been tasked with developing a method for assembling a team of at least three young professionals skilled in research, communication, and other critical areas.

Likewise, a group has been tasked with developing a webpage that would include input and experiences from exiting staff. Union Ministers Anurag Thakur, Piyush Goyal, Dharmendra Pradhan, Smriti Irani, Narendra Singh Tomar, and Hardeep Singh Puri are among those who coordinate their respective groups, according to some news reports. They have been assigned this role in order to communicate the best practices of their respective offices with other cabinet members.

The majority of the ministers who gave speeches at the Chintan Shivirs have been tasked with managing their respective groupings. Similarly, on the order of PM Modi, Union ministers carpooled with cabinet members from other ministries and states to attend these brainstorming meetings.