Pulwama Attack | Remembering The 40 CRPF Soldiers And Their Sacrifices for India on Valentine's Day

40 CRPF personnel were killed in the Pulwama terror attack which took place on February 14, 2019.

February 14, 2019, turned a black day for India when a Jaish-e-Mohammad (JeM) terrorist hit an explosive-laden vehicle into a convoy of security forces, which killed 40 CRPF personnel and left many wounded. This incident shocked the entire country. On Feb 14, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other leaders have paid their tribute to the martyred souls who gifted their supreme love for their motherland with their lives.

What happened in the Pulwama Terror Attack?

An explosive-laden vehicle entered the Jammu-Srinagar highway from a left bylane and rammed into a CRPF bus. The incident rocked the sentiments of the country. Protests erupted across the country, and people were demanding to avenge the death of the soldiers. This cowardice act got global criticism as well.

IAF rains bomb at Balakot

India was looking to take some steps to appease the anger of the people. As the Prime Minister said, “The security forces have been permitted to choose the timing, place and nature of their response to the Pulwama terror attack”. At the wee hours on February 26, Indian Air Force jets did the carpet bombardment at the training camp of JeM in Balakot, in Pakistan’s Khyber Pakhtunkhwa intending to eradicate the terrorist camp in Pakistan. The Balakot training camp was handled by Yousuf Azhar (alias Ustad Ghouri), the brother-in-law of Masood Azhar, Chief of JeM”.

Abhinandan lands in POK

Pakistani Air Force attempted to strike at military installations in Jammu and Kashmir which was thwarted by the Indian Air Force. Meanwhile, Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman piloting a MiG-21 shot down Pakistan’s F-16 aircraft. In this process, Abhinandan’s aircraft was hit, and he ejected only to land on the Pakistani soil where he was held captive by the Pakistani army. Pakistan had to release the pilot two days later due to international pressure. Abhinandan received a heroic welcome when he returned to the country.

India’s diplomatic victory

The United Nations, along with several countries, showed their solidarity with India and harshly condemned the Pulwama terror attack and declared their support to India to fight terrorism in the region. This was India’s diplomatic victory over Pakistan.

Homage to Pulwama martyrs

Prime Minister Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and other dignitaries paid tribute to the 40 slain soldiers of Pulwama terror attack on their death anniversary. PM Modi also stated that India would never forget their martyrdom. A memorial is set to be inaugurated in Lethpora camp.

RTI to know inquiry report

Panipat-based RTI activist P.P. Kapoor filed two RTI applications demanding the copy of the inquiry report of Pulwama attack. He also sought to know the details of the financial aid and other perks given to the deceased soldiers’ families.

But the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) Director General has made it clear not to reply to an RTI query regarding the inquiry report of Pulwama terror attack on February 14, 2019. The Central Public Information Officer, citing Para- 24 (1) of Chapter 6 of the Right to Information Act, 2005, which has exempted the force from providing any information apart from human rights violation and corruption.

Here is the list of names of the slain CRPF jawans:

Jammu sector

  1. Naseer Ahmad (Jammu and Kashmir)
  2. Jaimal Singh (Punjab)
  3. Sukhjinder Singh (Punjab)
  4. Tilak Raj (Himachal Pradesh)
  5. Rohitash Lamba (Rajasthan)

Srinagar Sector

  1. Vijay Soreng (Jharkhand)
  2. Vasantha Kumar VV (Kerala)
  3. Subramaniam G (Tamil Nadui)
  4. Manoja Kumar Behera (Odisha)
  5. GD Guru H (Karnataka)
  6. Narayan Lal Gurjar (Rajasthan)
  7. Mahesh Kumar (Uttar Pradesh)
  8. Pradeep Kumar (Uttar    Pradesh)
  9. Hemraj Meena (Rajasthan)
  10. PK Sahoo  (Odisha)
  11. Ramesh Yadav (Uttar Pradesh)
  12. Sanjay Rajput  (Maharashtra)
  13. Koushal Kumar Rawat (Uttar Pradesh)
  14. Pradeep Singh (Uttar Pradesh)
  15. Shyam Babu (Uttar Pradesh)
  16. Ajit Kumar Azad (Uttar Pradesh)
  17. Maninder Singh Attri (Punjab)
  18. Bablu Santra (West Bengal)
  19. Ashvni Kumar    Kaochi (Madhya Pradesh)
  20. Rathod Nitin Shivaji (Maharashtra)
  21. Bhagirathi Singh (Rajasthan)
  22. Virendra Singh (Uttarakhand)
  23. Awadhesh Kumar Yadav (Uttar Pradesh)
  24. Ratan Kumar Thakur (Bihar)
  25. Kankaj Kumar Tripathi (Uttar Pradesh)
  26. Jeet Ram (Rajasthan)
  27. Amit Kumar (Uttar Pradesh)
  28. Vijay Kr. Mourya (Uttar Pradesh)
  29. Kulwinder Singh (Punjab)
  30. Maneswar Bsumatari (Assam)
  31. Mohan Lal (Uttarakhand)
  32. Sanjay Kumar Sinha (Bihar)
  33. Ram Vakeel (Uttar Pradesh)

Jai Hind!

Pulwama Attack | Remembering The 40 CRPF Soldiers And Their Sacrifices for India on Valentine's Day
Article Name
Pulwama Attack | Remembering The 40 CRPF Soldiers And Their Sacrifices for India on Valentine's Day
Pulwama attack took place on February 14, 2019 and turned to be a black day for India. On the first anniversary of Pulwama terror attack, we remember the sacrifices of 40 CRPF soldiers who were killed in this attack.