MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Shalimar Bagh for Delhi Elections 2020

Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Shalimar Bagh Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Shalimar Bagh Assembly Constituency
Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Shalimar Bagh Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Shalimar Bagh Assembly Constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Bandana Kumari of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Shalimar Bagh with a vote margin of over 57,707 votes. He was contesting election against Rekha Gupta of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP).

Key Facts of Shalimar Bagh Assembly Constituency and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election:

Shalimar Bagh Assembly constituency was created in 1993. However, after the implementation of the suggestions of the Delimitation Commission in 2008, this constituency has been taken out of the Outer Delhi Lok Sabha constituency and included in the Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha Constituency.

Shalimar Bagh Assembly seat has always been a BJP bastion. The main contest will take place between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates. The sitting MLA from this constituency and former deputy speaker Bandana Kumari has been given nomination again by AAP.

The other major candidates of the Shalimar Bagh assembly constituency in the 2020 Vidhan Sabha Election are BJP’s Rekha Gupta (who lost to AAP during the 2015 assembly election) and Congress’s JS Nayol (a prominent local businessperson).

The 2020 Shalimar Bagh Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Shalimar Bagh Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Shalimar Bagh Assembly Constituency was created in 1993. However, after the implementation of the Delimitation Commission’s reorganization recommendations, it has been included in the Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency.

  • It is part of the North West Delhi district.

  • The major localities in Shalimar Bagh Vidhan Sabha constituency are Pitampura, Haider Pur Village, Shalimar Village, and Shalimar Bagh.

  • The sex ratio of this constituency is 852 females per 1,000 males, which is higher than the Delhi average of the 824 females per 1,000 males.

  • BJP has always been strong in this constituency. Out of the 6 Delhi assembly elections till now, BJP has won 4 times. Sahib Singh Verma, former Chief Minister, won this seat one (in 1993). BJP’s Ravinder Nath Bansal won this Vidhan Sabha seat thrice (1998, 2003, and 2008). However, in the last two assembly elections, the seat has been won by AAP’s Bandana Kumari, the sitting MLA from this constituency.

Name of Assembly Constituency

Shalimar Bagh

Constituency Type

General (No Reservation)

District Name

North West Delhi

Lok Sabha Constituency

Chandni Chowk

Total Registered Voters

1,74,417 total voters

Total Registered Male Voters

94,157 male voters

Total Registered Female Voters

80,250 female voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

10 transgender voters

Main Rivals of Shalimar Bagh Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, the main contest will be between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates in this constituency.

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Bandana Kumari

 – She has won the Shalimar Bagh assembly seat twice (2013 and 2015).

 – Bandana Kumari was the deputy Speaker of the 6th Delhi Legislative Assembly.

 – She was the Aam Aadmi Party Mahila Shakti’s (women’s wing of the Aam Aadmi Party) former President.

 – Bandana Kumari has earned the name of being the “giant killer” as she defeated three-time BJP MLA from the Shalimar Bagh constituency, Ravinder Nath Bansal in 2013.


Rekha Gupta

 – Rekha Gupta was the New Delhi Municipal Council’s (NDMC) Standing Committee Deputy Chairman.

 – In 2007, she won the Delhi Councillor elections from Uttari Pitampura (Ward 54).

 – She started her political career in student politics and went on to become the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) President in 1996-1997.

 – She has been an active RSS activist since childhood.

 – Rekha Gupta is the National Executive Member in BJP (inducted in March 2010).


J S Nayol

 – He is the President of the All India Car Dealers Association.



Janhit Kisan Party

Saurabh Gupta

Bharat Lok Sewak Party

Dr. Ashwani Kumar


Poonam Kaushik


Shyam Kumar





Main Issues/Factors in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Shalimar Bagh Constituency

Shalimar Bagh assembly constituency’s main issues/factors in 2020 Vidhan Sabha election are:

  • A significantly large concentration of Vaishya voters in this constituency make them one of the determining factors in the Shalimar Bagh Assembly Constituency.

  • Lack of public parking places has come up as a major problem in this constituency, often complained by the middle-class populace.

  • Local problems are the major factors on the basis of which the voters in this Vidhan Sabha constituency are going to vote. Some of the glaring problems include lack of potable water as well as public amenities in JJ clusters. Traffic snarls are another major problem in this constituency.

Winners of Shalimar Bagh Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Shalimar Bagh Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Bandana Kumari defeated BJP’s Rekha Gupta by 10,978 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Bandana Kumari

AAP (Aam Aadmi Party)

62,656 votes (52.14%)

1,20,164 votes (68.9%)

Rekha Gupta

BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party)

51,678 votes (43.01 %)

Sulekh Aggarwal

INC (Indian National Congress)

3,200 votes (2.66%)

Lalit Kumar Gautam

BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party)

892 votes (0.74%)


  • In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Bandana Kumar
  • In 2013, it was won by AAP’s Bandana Kumari

  • In 2008, it was won by BJP’s Ravinder Nath Bansal

  • In 2003, it was won by BJP’s Ravinder Nath Bansal

  • In 1998, it was won by BJP’s Ravinder Nath Bansal

  • In 1993, it was won by BJP’s Sahib Singh Verma