MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Tilak Nagar for Delhi Elections 2020

Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Tilak Nagar Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Tilak Nagar Assembly Constituency
Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Tilak Nagar Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Tilak Nagar Assembly Constituency

Post Results: In the  state Assembly elections 2020, Jarmnail Singh of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Tilak Nagar with a vote margin of over 28,029 votes. He was contesting against Bhartiya Janata Party’s Rajiv Babbar.

Key Facts of Tilak Nagar Assembly Constituency and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election:

Tilak Nagar assembly constituency has always seen a close contest between the Congress and BJP. However, the scenario changed in 2013 when Aam Aadmi Party’s Jarnail Singh won the election by defeating BJP’s Rajiv Babber. Since then Jarnail Singh has won this seat twice and is trying to win again from this constituency.

BJP has always been strong in this constituency since 1993. In fact, the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency is won by the BJP (Pravesh Sahib Singh Verma). It needs to be seen whether the twice elected AAP candidate Jarnail Singh becomes third time lucky in winning the seat.

The other major candidates of the Tilak Nagar assembly constituency in the 2020 Vidhan Sabha Election are Rajiv Babbar of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Raminder Singh Bamrah of Indian National Congress (INC).

The 2020 Tilak Nagar Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Tilak Nagar Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Tilak Nagar Assembly Constituency was created in 1977 when it was won by Janata Party’s OP Babbar.

  • It is part of the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency and West Delhi district.

  • The major localities in Tilak Nagar Vidhan Sabha constituency are Vishnu Garden, Resettlement Colony Khyala, Resettlement Colony Block B Khyala, Ravi Nagar Extn, Vishnu Garden Ext, Guru Nanak Nagar, Sant Garh, Tilak Vihar, New Shahpura M.B.S. Nagar, Prithvi Park, Vikas Puri, Keshopur Village, Vikas Puri Ext, Harijan Colony Double Storey, Tilak Nagar, New Mahavir Nagar L-2 Block, New Mahavir Nagar Krishna Park Gali No 16,17,13,14, New Mahavir Nagar Delhi ADM Qtr, New Mahavir Nagar L Block Gali No 21,22,18,19,20, New Mahavir Nagar, Old Mahavir Naar S-4, Ganesh Nagar, Old Mahavir Nagar, Krishna Park Extn, Vikas Kunj Vikas Puri, Janta Flat Kg-3 Vikas Puri, Lig Flat Kg-2 Vikas Puri, New Krishna Park And P M Society Flats, Shankar Garden T-Hut Vikas Puri, Shankar Garden A&B Block Vikas Puri Krishna Park, Janta Flats Site I & Block A Vikas Puri, Vikas Puri Block A, Janta Flats Site-1 Vikas Puri, Ajay Enclave, Ashok Nagar, Meenakshi Garden Tilak Nagar Police Station, Ashok Nagar Double & Single Quarter, and Police Colony Quarters Vikas Puri.

  • This constituency’s demography is dominated by both Punjabis and Purvanchalis. However, a decisive role in the electoral politics is played by the Sikh-Punjabis.

  • The sex ratio in Tilak Nagar assembly constituency is 931 females for every 1,000 males (which is significantly better than the average sex-ratio of Delhi: 824 females for every 1,000 males).

Name of Assembly Constituency

Tilak Nagar

Constituency Type

General (No Reservation)

District Name

West Delhi

Lok Sabha Constituency

West Delhi

Total Registered Voters

1,46,892 total voters

Total Registered Male Voters

76,050 male voters

Total Registered Female Voters

70,836 female voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

12 transgender voters

Main Rivals of Tilak Nagar Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, the main contest in this constituency will be among the candidates of three major political parties: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Indian National Congress, and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Jarnail Singh

 – Jarnail Singh is the sitting MLA from the Tilak Nagar constituency. He has won this assembly seat twice (2013 and 2015).

 – He was the “Youngest Sikh MLA” of Delhi Legislative Assembly in 2013 when he defeated 3-time MLA from this constituency OP Babbar’s son Rajiv Babbar.

 – Singh became the Chairman of the District Development Committee (West) in 2013.

 – He was the first President of Aam Aadmi Party’s Youth Wing in 2014.

 – He is the Chairman of Water Purification & Treatment Equipment Manufacturer Association (WAPTEMA)


Rajiv Babbar

 – He is the son of 3-time MLA from this constituency OP Babbar.

 – Rajiv is the Delhi State Vice President of BJP.

 – He has contested the Tilak Nagar assembly seat twice (2013 and 2015) and both the times he lost to AAP’s Jarnail Singh.

 – He is the founder of Ek Kaam Desh ke Naam.

 – He was the national level table tennis player.


Raminder Singh Bamrah

 – He has been chosen as the Congress candidate from Tilak Nagar constituency.

 – He is a local face who has been living here with his family for more than 50 years.

Main Issues/Factors in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election‘s Tilak Nagar Constituency

Tilak Nagar assembly constituency’s main issues/factors in 2020 Vidhan Sabha election are:

  • The major issues of this constituency revolve around the local issues and day-to-day problems such as polluted drinking water, the timing of water supply, illegal colonies, narrow lanes, water-logging, sewer lines, traffic jams, and illegal colonies.

  • Tilaknagar is one of the 20 assembly constituencies where the MLA’s membership was canceled due to Office of Profit issues. The court had later changed its decision and the memberships reinstated. There is widespread resentment among people in the assembly constituency regarding the basic amenities. They complain that the AAP MLA hasn’t bothered to show up much in the last 5-years.

  • Lack of maintenance of the parks (built in the year 1984) has led to their destruction. Though locals raise the issues related to poor roads, water, and electricity, no one listens to their demands. The condition of roads has deteriorated significantly in the last few years and the effort of maintaining them is almost absent.

  • Parking and illegal occupation have become a real problem. Parking vehicles have become a problem in the Tilak Nagar assembly constituency and that’s why many people have been forced to keep their cars on streets.

  • In many places, electric poles have been installed. However, electricity hasn’t come yet.

Winners of Tilak Nagar Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Tilak Nagar Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Jarnail Singh defeated BJP’s Rajiv Babbar by 19,890 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Jarnail Singh

AAP (Aam Aadmi Party)

57,180 votes (55.10%)

1,03,781 votes (70.65%)

Rajiv Babbar

BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party)

37,290 votes (35.93%)

Duli Chand Lohia

INC (Indian National Congress)

7,303 votes (7.04%)

Vijay Bahadur

BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party)

250 votes (0.24%)

  • In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Jarnail Singh
  • In 2013, it was won by AAP’s Jarnail Singh

  • In 2008, it was won by BJP’s O.P. Babbar

  • In 2003, it was won by BJP’s O.P. Babbar

  • In 1998, it was won by INC’s Jaspal Singh

  • In 1993, it was won by BJP’s O.P. Babbar

Related Link:

Tilak Nagar Map