Karnataka Bypolls: BJP Back in Power with Thumping Victory, Wins 12 Seats

Karnataka Bypolls: BJP Back in Power with Thumping Victory, Wins 12 Seats
Karnataka Bypolls: BJP wins 12 seats out of 15 seats
Karnataka Bypolls: BJP Back in Power with Thumping Victory, Wins 12 Seats
Karnataka Bypolls: BJP wins 12 seats out of 15 seats

It was expected even before the counting began that Karnataka bypolls will be a tough battle, especially for the BJP to save the government. But uncertainty looms in politics like cricket. Therefore, Karnataka results have been speaking a different story. The 15-seat by-elections in the state ended one-sided with the thumping victory of 12 out of 15 seats by the BJP. The ruling party needed just six seats to remain in power. The prediction of local media proved correct. This victory will not only save the BS Yeddyurappa led government in the state rather it has brought jubilation in the saffron camp.

Karnataka’s effect in Jharkhand

Jharkhand assembly election is underway. The three-phase election is still remaining to reach the finish line, this victory has boosted the party’s moral to go all out and change the political arithmetic in the state. So, the prediction of results before the counting of votes is not free from danger.

BJP bags 12-seat

The saffron outfit bagged a total of 12 seats out of the 15 seats in Karnataka whereby-polls were held on 5 December. The fate of BJP government was hanging in balance, but today’s result ended all the speculations. The allegation was rife that the saffron party returned to power with the help of horse-trading and operationĀ kamalĀ a couple of months ago.

BJP number reaches 117

With the induction of 15 new members, the strength of the Karnataka Assembly has gone up to 223, while the total strength of the house is 225. Two seats still remain vacant. The BJP’s number has gone up to 117 with the scintillating victory in Karnataka by-polls. The Congress and the JDS have been knocked out easily without any fight.

Shock in the opposition camp

This result has given a chance to the BJP to move to Maharashtra to destabilise the Shiv Sena-NCP and Congress government in the state. The result has sent a shock wave and some sort of fear in the opposition camp. The rival camp was claiming moral victories after the results in Maharashtra and Haryana and hoping to turn the table in Jharkhand, where counting will take place on 23 December. Today’s results in Karnataka have made the opposition’s planning topsy turvy.

Congress accepts defeat

This was seen in the statements of Karnataka Congress leader DK Shivakumar, who has “accepted defeat” and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who said, “Karnataka results show that in any state if someone goes against the mandate of the people, they will be punished by the people.”

Top Congress leaders quit

The dejected Congress party accepted the defeat and two top leaders of the party have decided to quit, taking the responsibility of the party’s poor show in the by-elections. By-polls in the state took place on 5 December for 15 of 17 assembly constituencies left vacant by MLAs who resigned in July, which led to the downfall of the Congress-JDS coalition.

The resignation of Congress stalwarts like Karnataka Congress Chief Dinesh Gundu Rao and former chief minister of the state Siddaramaiah has jolted the Karnataka Congress. Apart from the Congress, the JDS emerged as the biggest loser. Former chief minister H D Kumaraswamy was hoping for a hung assembly and then looking to play the role of kingmaker. But his dream could not be unfulfilled