List of All Presidents of India

Zakir Husain Khan

Zakir Hussain
Zakir Hussain

Term – May 13, 1967 to May 3, 1969

Another eminent scholar and educationist, Zakir Hussain stepped into the footsteps of S. Radhakrishnan and was elected as the third President of India. He was the vice Chancellor of the Aligarh Muslim University and the co-founder of the Jamia Millia Islamia University of Delhi. Hussain was also the recipient of the Bharat Ratna in 1963. He was the first Muslim President of the country and also the first president to die in office. Also, he was the second Vice President in the History of the country. Besides, being the President and the Vice president, he also served as Governor from 1957 to 1962 in Bihar.

Political Affiliation – Independent