MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Shakur Basti for Delhi Assembly Election

Map of Delhi Showing Location of Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi Showing Location of Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Satyender Jain of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Shakur Basti with a vote margin of over 51,165 votes. He was contesting election against Dr SC Vats of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP).

Key Facts of Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election:

Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency (created in 1993) is a part of Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency. Since 2013, this constituency is the stronghold of the Aam Admi Party. AAP’s Satyandra Kumar Jain has won this seat in 2013 and 2015 assembly elections. While Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency in 2008 (Shyam Lal Garg) and 1993 (Gauri Shankar Bhardwaj), Indian National Congress won in 2003 and 1998 (by Dr. S. C. Vats).

Satyender Kumar Jain (Aam Aadmi Party or AAP) has again filed nomination from the Shakur Basti assembly seat in the 2020 Delhi Assembly Constituency Election. In the upcoming election, he is challenged by BJP’s Suresh Chand Vats (a two time MLA from the constituency on a Congress ticket in 1998 and 2003), Congress’ Dev Raj Arora, BSP’s Asha Ram, and Akhil Bharatiya Jan Shakti Party’s Praveen Yadav.

The 2020 Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency was created in 1993.

  • It is located in both the North West Delhi district and West Delhi district.

  • The major localities in Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency are Paschim Vihar, Jwala Heri Village, Peera Garhi Camp, Pitampura Saraswati Vihar, Pitampura Public School Pitampura, Delhi, Pitampura Saraswati Vihar, Rani Bagh, Saraswati Vihar, Shakur Basti, Multan Nagar, New Multan Nagar, Rishi Nagar, and Rani Bagh.

  • A huge cluster of slums is present in this assembly constituency. A diverse demographic variation is found here.

  • In December 2015, over 500 slums in Shakur Basti were demolished by the Indian Railways in an anti-encroachment drive, which had caused a massive uproar in the political arena. The issue of giving legality to the illegal slum areas, relocation of the slums, and upgradation/rehabilitation of slum dwellers came to the fore only after this issue.

  • This densely populated assembly constituency has a better gender ratio (943 female per 1,000 male) than the gender ratio of Delhi NCT (824 female per 1,000 male).

  • AAP’s Satyandra Jain’s, the winning candidate, vote share increased from 42.3% in the 2013 assembly election to 48.67% in the 2015 assembly election.

Name of Assembly Constituency

Shakur Basti (constituency created in 1993)

Constituency Type

General (No Reservation)

District Name

North West Delhi district as well as West Delhi district

Lok Sabha Constituency

Chandni Chowk

Total Registered Voters

More than 1,45,000 Voters

Total Registered Male Voters

More than 75,000 Voters

Total Registered Female Voters

More than 70,000 Voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

Main Rivals of Shakur Basti Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, the main contest will be between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates in this constituency.

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Satyendra Kumar Jain

 – He is a two time Cabinet Minister in the Delhi Government (both in 2013 and 2015 Delhi assemblies).

 – The portfolios handled by him include Health, Home, Industries, Transport, Public Work Department, Power, and Urban Development.

 – During his first stint as Cabinet Minister (from December 28, 2013, to February 14, 2014), Satyendra Jain served as Health and Industries Minister.

 – During his second term as a cabinet minister, he handled the health, industries, public work department, power, home, urban development portfolios.

 – In the Sixth Legislative Assembly of Delhi, he is one of the 7 cabinet ministers.

 – His political career started by getting involved in Anna Hazare’s anti-corruption movement.


Suresh Chand Vats (Dr. S.C. Vats)

 – Dr. S.C. Vats is a political veteran who started his political career back in the 1970s. Till 2014, he was associated with the Indian National Congress (INC) but left it by citing an “ideological vacuum” within the party.

 – From 1983 to 1989, Vats was a member of the Delhi Metropolitan Council.

 – Dr. S.C. Vats won from the Shakur Basti Assembly Constituency in 1998 and 2003 on Congress ticket.

 – In 2005, the Public Accounts Committee, headed by ruling Congress Party MLA S. C. Vats, found Sheila Dikshit led Delhi Government of colluding with the business houses and privatizing the power sector by bending all rules.

 – In 2006, Suresh Chand Vats received Best Legislator Award from hon’ble Speaker of Lok Sabha Late Shri Somnath Chatterjee.

 – While he was still in Congress, he lost to BJP’S Shayam Lal Garg in 2008 by a 4,000 vote margin.

 – He joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on January 1, 2015.

 – Vats contested the assembly election in 2015 on a BJP ticket but lost to Satyendra Kumar Jain by a margin of 3,133 votes.

 – The governing body of the Vivekananda Institute of Professional Studies is currently headed by him.


Dev Raj Arora

 – He was the ex-councilor of Rani Bagh


Asha Ram

Akhil Bharatiya Jan Shakti Party’s

Praveen Yadav

Main Issues in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Shakur Basti Constituency

Shakur Basti assembly constituency’s main 2020 election issues are:

  • The freebies doled out by the Kejriwal government has positively affected the lives of the low-income dwellers of the slum clusters, low-income settlements, and regularized colonies.

  • Open drains and mosquito breeding remain a problem in the assembly constituency’s slum areas (such as the Railway Jhuggi Camp). Problems of dengue and viral fever cases remain high in these slums and low-income dwelling areas.

  • The issues regarding the better availability of local amenities persist. The two main issues are the demand for better sewage networks as well as the availability of uninterrupted water supply.

Winners of Shakur Basti Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Shakur Basti Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Satyender Kumar Jain won the Shakur Basti constituency by defeating BJP’s S. C. Vats by just 3,133 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Satyender Kumar Jain


51,530 votes (48.67%)

1,05,887 votes (71.91%)

S. C. Vats


48,397 votes (45.71%)

Chaman Lal Sharma


4,812 votes (4.54%)

Dr Amar Nath Yadav


234 votes (0.22%)

  • In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Satyender Jain
  • In 2013, it was won by AAP’s Satyender Kumar Jain

  • In 2008, it was won by BJP’s Shyam Lal Garg

  • In 2003, it was won by INC’s Dr. S. C. Vats

  • In 1998, it was won by INC’s Dr. S. C. Vats

  • In 1993, it was won by BJP’s Gauri Shankar Bhardwaj

Related Link:

Shakur Basti Map