IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony: A Starry Affair

IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony

IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony

After the thrilling ICC World T20 2016 that saw the West Indies taking away the trophy for the second time, cricket fans in India and abroad are geared up to welcome a new edition of the IPL 2016. The ninth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is set to kick off on 9 April 2016 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Prior to this, the IPL Committee had expressed high hopes on making the opening ceremony the country’s biggest extravaganza.

Details of IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony

  • Date: 8 April 2016, Friday
  • Time: 7:30 PM
  • Venue: The Dome @ NSCI-SVP Stadium, Mumbai
  • Live Streaming: Hotstar app
  • Broadcasting Channels:  Set MAX, Sony Six, Sony ESPN, Sony ESPN HD and Sony Six HD

Bollywood Celebrities to Perform in IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony

  1. Sri Lankan beauty Jacqueline Fernandez
  2. Indian people rapper, Yo Yo Honey Singh
  3. Mesmerizing Bollywood beauty, Katrina Kaif
  4. Current Bollywood heartthrob, Ranveer Singh

Other Performances to Watch out for

There is an all-girl English pop band called TBC which is set to perform at the IPL 2016 opening ceremony. In total, 200 dancers, folk artists, performers and percussionists are expected to perform at the opening ceremony of the ninth edition of IPL.

West Indies all-rounder Bravo’s rap is also the talk of the town. After recording a historic win over India in the ICC World T20, West Indies are still rejoicing. The all-rounder Dwayne Bravo’s smash-hit rap ‘Champion dance’ is undoubtedly something you can’t miss for sure. Set to play for the new IPL team Gujarat Lions, Bravo will be wooing the Indian cricket fans with his scintillating performance.

American singer Chris Brown, better known for his hit tracks including “Loyal” and “With You”, is set to impress Indian fans at the opening ceremony of IPL 9th edition. Brown will be joined by American dancehall reggae trip Major Lazer and English rapper Fuse ODG and Jamaican-American recording artist Nailah Thorbourne.

As per an official statement released by the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India), Ferriswheel Entertainment – a Mumbai-based event management company – which has been contracted for organising this year’s IPL season, is well prepared to offer a 360 degree experience of seamless graphics and state-of-the-art technology.

Live Telecast of IPL Opening Ceremony

Live TV Telecast of Vivo Indian Premier League 2016 Opening Ceremony will be available in 32 countries on multiple television channels including Set MAX, Sony Six, Sony ESPN, Sony ESPN HD, and Sony Six HD.

Tickets for IPL Opening Ceremony

Tickets for the Vivo IPL2016 Opening Ceremony are now available and can be booked online through the website of bookmyshow.


Explore More :

IPL 2017 Schedule
IPL 2017 Auction Highlights
Indian Premier League captains List

IPL 2016 Schedule
IPL 2016 Team Squad
IPL 2016 Points Table
IPL 2016 Venues
IPL 2016 Most Expensive Players
IPL 2015 Highest Run Scorers
IPL 2015 Highest Wicket Takers
IPL 2016 Most Expensive Players
Delhi Daredevils Team & Schedule
Sunrisers Hyderabad Team & Schedule
Kings XI Punjab Team & Schedule
Royal Challengers Team & Schedule
Rising Pune Supergiants Team & Schedule
Kolkata Knight Riders Team & Schedule
Mumbai Indians Team & Scgedule
Gujarat Lions Team & Schedule