IPL Auction 2017 – Highlights



The auction for the 10th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was organised on February 20, 2017 at Bengaluru. This year’s auction was special in the sense that it came at the end of the third three-year cycle. In all, 352 players went under the hammer and the franchises were able to buy only 75 players (including 28 overseas professionals) from the said pool. Before the auction started, the eight teams had released 161 players in all. Out of them, a couple of star attractions such as Kevin Pietersen and Mitchell Starc pulled out of the auction before it actually started.

How Did The Auction Happen?

In 2018, all the teams would be able to retain only around five players each and let go of the others. This is the reason why the teams did not go all out this year. They were very selective with their purchases. What also further hampered them was that they didn’t have a lot of money to begin with. The 351 players who went under the hammer were divided into groups based on their role as well as their base price. Then, they were kept in separate pots. The auctioneer started with the highest-priced players with base prices of Rs 2 crore. Then he gradually moved on to the lowest-paid set, where the players had a base price of Rs 1 lakh.

Before the lunchtime all the players had been auctioned once. After that there was a second round of auctioning, where the players unsold in the first round were given a chance. This was followed by a third round, where the players unsold in the second round received another go. This was perhaps supposed to go on until all the teams had filled their respective rosters. The bidding process was also quite simple and followed the template normally followed in the IPL so far.

The auctioneer named a player, declared his base price, and then teams either did not show any interest in him or bid for him. The bidding normally happened between two franchises or more and it continued till all but one went out of the bidding. A franchise representative could show interest by holding up the paddle each and every time his group wanted to buy a player. This saw several players – especially uncapped Indian players – earn big money for their services. At the same time, surprisingly enough some top-calibre players were given a miss.

Important Players Sold

Following is a list of capped players that were sold in the IPL 2017 auction:

Name Base price (in INR) Final price (in INR) Sold to
Eoin Morgan 2 crore 2 crore Kings XI Punjab
Pawan Negi 30 lakh 1 crore Royal Challengers Bangalore
Angelo Mathews 2 crore 2 crore Delhi Daredevils
Ben Stokes 2 crore 14.5 crore Rising Pune Supergiants
Corey Anderson 1 crore 1 crore Delhi Daredevils
Nicholas Pooran 30 lakh 30 lakh Mumbai Indians
Kagiso Rabada 1 crore 5 crore Delhi Daredevils
Trent Boult 1.5 crore 5 crore Kolkata Knight Riders
Tymal Mills 50 lakh 12 crore Royal Challengers Bangalore
Pat Cummins 2 crore 4.5 crore Delhi Daredevils
Mitchell Johnson 2 crore 2 crore Mumbai Indians
Mohammad Nabi 30 lakh 30 lakh Sunrisers Hyderabad
Rashid Khan 50 lakh 4 crore Sunrisers Hyderabad
Chris Woakes 2 crore 4.2 crore Kolkata Knight Riders
Karn Sharma 30 lakh 3.2 crore Mumbai Indians
Rishi Dhawan 30 lakh 55 lakh Kolkata Knight Riders
Matt Henry 50 lakh 50 lakh Kings XI Punjab
Jaydev Unadkat 30 lakh 30 lakh Rising Pune Supergiants
Varun Aaron 30 lakh 2.8 crore Kings XI Punjab
Manpreet Gony 30 lakh 60 lakh Gujarat Lions
Martin Guptill 50 lakh 50 lakh Kings XI Punjab
Jason Roy 1 crore 1 crore Gujarat Lions
Saurabh Tiwary 30 lakh 30 lakh Mumbai Indians
Chris Jordan 50 lakh 50 lakh Sunrisers Hyderabad
Nathan Coulter-Nile 1 crore 3.5 crore Kolkata Knight Riders
Ben Laughlin 30 lakh 30 lakh Sunrisers Hyderabad
Billy Stanlake 30 lakh 30 lakh Royal Challengers Bangalore
Asela Gunaratne 30 lakh 30 lakh Mumbai Indians
Daniel Christian 1 crore 1 crore Rising Pune Supergiants
Rovman Powell 30 lakh 30 lakh Kolkata Knight Riders
Munaf Patel 30 lakh 30 lakh Gujarat Lions
Chirag Suri 10 lakh 10 lakh Gujarat Lions
Lockie Ferguson 50 lakh 50 lakh Rising Pune Supergiants
Manoj Tiwary 50 lakh 50 lakh Rising Pune Supergiants
Darren Bravo 50 lakh 50 lakh Kolkata Knight Riders


Following is a list of capped players who were unsold:

Player name Base price (in INR)
Faiz Fazal 30 lakh
Alex Hales 1 crore
Ross Taylor 50 lakh
Irfan Pathan 50 lakh
Sean Abbott 30 lakh
Ben Dunk 30 lakh
Jonny Bairstow 1.5 crore
Andre Fletcher 30 lakh
Johnson Charles 30 lakh
Dinesh Chandimal 50 lakh
Kyle Abbott 1.5 crore
Ishant Sharma 2 crore
Lakshan Sandakan 30 lakh
Ish Sodhi 30 lakh
Brad Hogg 50 lakh
Pragyan Ojha 30 lakh
Imran Tahir 50 lakh
Asghar Stanikzai 20 lakh
Mohammad Shahzad 50 lakh
Cheteshwar Pujara 50 lakh
Abhinav Mukund 30 lakh
Michael Klinger 50 lakh
S Badrinath 30 lakh
Marlon Samuels 1 crore
Evin Lewis 50 lakh
Nic Maddinson 50 lakh
Parvez Rasool 30 lakh
Jason Holder 1.5 crore
David Wiese 30 lakh
Thisara Perera 50 lakh
Farhaan Behardien 30 lakh
Anamul Hoque 30 lakh
Shane Dowrich 30 lakh
Kusal Perera 50 lakh
Niroshan Dickwella 30 lakh
Brad Haddin 1.5 crore
Glenn Phillips 10 lakh
RP Singh 30 lakh
Pankaj Singh 30 lakh
Fawad Ahmed 30 lakh
Michael Beer 30 lakh
Akila Dananjaya 30 lakh
Nathan Lyon 1.5 crore
Rahul Sharma 30 lakh
Joe Burns 30 lakh
Colin Munro 50 lakh
James Neesham 50 lakh
Wayne Parnell 50 lakh
Mitchell Santner 50 lakh
Colin de Grandhomme 30 lakh
Andile Phehlukwayo 1 crore
Dwaine Pretorius 30 lakh
Ben Wheeler 30 lakh
Kesrick Williams 30 lakh
Mehedi Hassan Miraz 30 lakh
Mahmudullah 30 lakh
Sabbir Rahman 30 lakh
Ashton Turner 20 lakh

Also Read:

IPL 2017 Schedule

IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony