General Elections 2019 – Day 50

General Elections 2019 - Day 50

General Elections 2019 - Day 50

PM Modi claims victory after Phase 4 says remaining phases will reveal margin of victory

Addressing a rally in Muzzafarpur in Bihar, PM Modi exuded confidence in claiming victory after four rounds of polling, reports Times of India. He said the only outcome of knowing now is the margin of the NDA victory. The PM raised the issue of national security touching upon the recent serial bomb blasts in Sri Lanka saying he and his party was committed to fighting terrorism and keeping the nation secure.

He extended further speaking of the once notorious law and order situation in Bihar and how the Nitish Kumar-led government had brought it under control. He cautioned the people of Bihar saying a wrong vote could return Bihar to the old days of lawlessness. Aiming at the jailed RJD leader Lalu Prasad Yadav, he said those seeking bail are worried about getting a strong government at the centre.

PM Modi highlighted the NDA’s pro-poor efforts saying families in Bihar enjoyed electricity in their homes for the first time, in many cases.

BSP-SP candidate defection to Congress in Guna threatens M.P government

BSP supremo Mayawati is raging, and the trigger is the defection of the BSP-SP candidate from Guna joining the Congress in Madhya Pradesh. At the centre of attention is Lokendra Singh Rajput who has shifted loyalties in favour of Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Coming right in the middle of the elections, the move has upset Mayawati who went on to Twitter saying she will have to review support to the Kamal Nath-led Congress government in M.P. This is bound to unsettle the Congress party high command at the state and centre.

The Congress came to power in M.P with support from BSP and SP. In the recently held assembly elections, the Congress won 114 seats, BJP 109, BSP 2, SP 1, and Independents 4. The narrow majority in the assembly will force Congress to review the impact of Rajput’s move.

Guna shall vote in Phase 6 on 12 May.

Amethi gears up for star attention before voting on 6 May

The most-watched constituency in the country is Amethi. Yes, well ahead of Varanasi. The outcome in Varanasi holds no suspense, but Amethi has the attention of the entire nation.

Questions abound. Will Rahul Gandhi beat Smriti Irani once again? If so, by what margin? Will Smriti Irani spring a major upset dethroning the Congress president? If so, by how much? Will the voters of Amethi stick with the Gandhi clan or is there a rethink? These are questions asked by all stakeholders and pollsters.

The outcome in Amethi will give out a strong signal to all political parties and the nation.

It is why Amethi will now turn into a political hotspot of attention before the 6 May round of voting here. Heading to the place is the Congress party in-charge of eastern U.P Priyanka Gandhi who is giving it all in support of her brother Rahul Gandhi and party president.

Robert Vadra, Priyanka’s husband, plans to hold a two-day camp in Amethi extending full support to the party efforts.

The BJP is not resting either. Amit Shah and CM Yogi Adityanath fully realize the national impact of a victory here and are making every effort to galvanize party cadres into ensuring an upset win for candidate and Union Minister Smriti Irani.

It’s the battle of the ‘Meenas’ in Dausa, Rajasthan

The Hindustan Times highlights little known Dausa district in Rajasthan, a region dominated by scheduled tribes. The Meena community is the most dominant of them. Dausa Lok Sabha constituency comprises eight assembly constituencies – Lalsot, Dausa, Bandikui, Chaksu, Bassi, Sikrai, Thanagazi, and Mahua.

Dausa had remained loyal to the Congress party for long, and since 1984 Lok Sabha elections, it has remained late Congress leader Rajesh Pilot’s family stronghold.

In 2009, an independent candidate from the Meena community, Kirodilal Meena won the seat only to lose it to BJP’s candidate Harish Chandra Meena in 2014.

Although the Meenas are spread all over Rajasthan, they remain a dominant force in Dausa. With the seat set to witness a big battle between two Meenas – Jaskaur Meena (BJP) and Savita Meena (Congress), which way will Dausa vote?