Bengal Warriors Eclipses Dabang Delhi in PKL-7

Bengal Warriors Eclipses Dabang Delhi in PKL-7
Pro Kabaddi League 2019: Bengal Warriors Beats Dabang Delhi to Win PKL Title
Bengal Warriors Eclipses Dabang Delhi in PKL-7
Pro Kabaddi League 2019: Bengal Warriors Beats Dabang Delhi to Win PKL Title

The Pro-kabaddi League’s (PKL) first edition was held in 2014. Like IPL in Cricket, PKL gradually started getting momentum, and today it is one of the most popular leagues in the country. Kabaddi is extremely popular in the country and is viewed with great interest in all states. Discussion and people’s comments on matches are part of an office day, in trains, buses, in a gentleman’s drawing room and so on.

Bengal emerges champion

The seventh edition of Pro-Kabaddi League ended with the victory of Bengal Warriors over Dabang Delhi in Ahmedabad on Saturday evening. The jampacked crowd in the stadium watched some breathtaking display of Kabaddi from both sides. Bengal Warriors kept the nerve till the end and surpassed its opponent in a hard-fought battle (39-34) in the summit clash.

Match starts in fast speed

The game started at a quick pace, and Delhi got off to a flying start Naveen Kumar got his 21st successive super 10. But Delhi’s storm was stopped by Bengal captain Nabibaksh who single-handedly helped his team to remain in the match firmly.

Nabibakhsh shines

The man of the moment in that match was Mohammad Nabibakhsh, the Iranian all-rounder captaining the side in the absence of Maninder Singh. Nabibakhsh not only boosted the morale of his teammates, but he also played like a champion. He never allowed his opponent to rule on the Ahmedabad mat in the grand finale for an extended period of the match.

Scores level at first half

A couple of minutes before the breather, the Iranian Nabibaksh displayed his class as he cleaned up the two men Delhi defence and completed an All Out which levelled the scores 17-all and opened the gate for Bengal to dictate the situation of this absorbing encounter.

Delhi defence crumbles

Bengal was then gradually taking the match in its grip as they powered two All Outs in the second half. Warriors cramped Delhi defence all the way. Bengal’s raider Sukesh Hegde and others jumped above their height and were able to pierce Delhi’s wall of defence with ease.

Naveen’s efforts go in vain

Naveen left no stone unturned towards the end, but it was too late. Delhi captain Joginder Narwal admitted that his team made more mistakes than their opponents and thus ended up on the losing side. “Bengal played better than us as we committed numerous mistakes especially in the second half,” said disappointed Joginder.

Fans enjoy a thrilling match

Die heart supporters of both teams were enjoying every moment of that thrilling encounter. Bengal maintained its record over Delhi in this season, as the winner did not the loss to Delhi in PKL-7. Naveen Kumar declared as the most valuable player of the season. The 19-year old later said “I am very pleased with the award but would have been happier had my team won the trophy,”

Patna school triumphs

Patna’s Mount Litera Zee School lifted the KBD Juniors title, defeated Delhi’s Mother Khazani Public School 42-32 in the final. Yash Raj of the winning team with 16 points was declared the top raider, while Tilak Raj adjudged as the best defender from the same school.

Here is the list of Pro Kabaddi 2019’s prize money for the top 6 teams:

Category Prize Money
Winners Rs 3 Crore
Runners-up Rs 1.80 Crore
3rd Place Rs 90 Lakh
4th Place Rs 90 Lakh
5th Place Rs 45 Lakh
6th Place Rs 45 Lakh

Rijiju hands trophy

Seventh Pro-Kabaddi League lasted for 91 days; a total of 137 matches were played in this edition. Minister of sports Kiren Rijiju handed the winning trophy to Bengal Warriors. Dazzling celebration erupted in the stadium. Bengal Warriors players were dancing all-round, their supporters were also happy. Players of runners-up Dabang Delhi were dejected to certain extent but won the heart of fans, the way they fought till the end.