Model Villages Adopted Under Modi’s Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana

Model Village under SAGY

Model Village under SAGYIt’s almost a month now when our Prime Minister launched the Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana (SAGY) on October 11, a programme to boost rural development under the Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS). The idea is to encourage MPs to utilise a portion of the funds allotted under MPLADS towards a rural development programme, in which each of them should adopt a village every year for its all-round economic and social growth and development so as to ensure a better life for all rural people. The one-month deadline has ended and so far only one-sixth of all MPs have selected villages to be developed as “model villages”.

List of MPs who have adopted a village under SAGY 

Jayapur village by Prime Minister Narendra Modi: On November 5, PM NaMo announced Jayapur in his Lok Sabha constituency Varanasi as his chosen village. This village, with a population of 4,000, in the Rohaniya Assembly segment, is situated 32 km from Varanasi. It is worth mentioning that during the last elections, 2,700 villagers from this village had voted. The village is dominated by Bhumihars and Patels. Narendra Modi visited this village on Novemebr 7, his first visit to his constituency after becoming Prime Minister. This village has already been an adopted village under the ideal village scheme in 2002 by the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), which focused on planting trees and promoting animal husbandry. After its adoption by NaMo under the SAGY project, this village will be developed further in all aspects.

Raval village by actress-politician Hema Malini: Raval village in Uttar Pradesh has been adopted by Hema Malini. She said that this village across the Yamuna river has not been developed at all, in spite of people chanting Radhe Radhe in Mathura, situated just 9 kilometres from the village. The village with a population of about 4,500 has always been neglected all these years. Hema Malini will take the initiative to develop this village under SAGY so that it get backs its original glory and its name gets highlighted in the tourist map. According to her, she will develop the village in such a way that it will symbolise women’s empowerment and development work will start from November 17, when she will personally visit this place and do the needful. Out of 179 villages in Mathura district, Hema Malini selected Raval for the scheme.

Nanand village by JD-U’s Kaushalendra Kumar: JD-U’s Kaushalendra Kumar has chosen Nanand village in his constituency in Nalanda in Bihar. This village has a population of 6,000. One of the prime reasons for choosing this village was because he got 3,600 of the 3,700 votes cast in this village during the last elections. However, Kaushalendra Kumar feels that the amount of Rs. 5 crore which has been for the development of villages under this scheme is too less to develop a good high school, a college, electricity, water, toilets and roads facilities in villages.

Puttamraju Kandriga village by Sachin Tendulkar: As per official reports, cricket icon Sachin Tendulkar has adopted Puttamraju Kandriga village in Potti Sriramulu of Nellore district in Andhra Pradesh. He has already discussed his plans with the PM to develop and bring revolutionary changes to this village with the allocated fund money. Villagers and the local people are rejoicing over this news and are welcoming the decision of Sachin Tendulkar. Sachin Tendukar will also meet the State CM, Chandra Babu Naidu, and would discuss with him his plans. The local residents are happy because this village would soon be re-developed and restored after being destroyed by the recent Hudhud cyclone.

Cola village by South Goa MP Narendra Sawaikar: MP Narendra Sawaikar has chosen Cola village in Canacona in Goa. For the development of Cola under the scheme, Sawaikar said that his main focus will be on sanitation, health, education, agriculture and tourism along with the conservation of the ancient Cabo de Rama fort in Cola village. Cola village with a population of 7,500 has good potential for tourism and agriculture.

Other names in the list: Nirmala Sitharaman, Union Minister of State for Commerce, has chosen two villages in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh. Union Minister Sushma Swaraj, MP Sharad Pawar of the Nationalist Congress Party, AK Antony of the Indian National Congress, JD-U’s Sharad Yadav are among others who have each chosen a village to adopt in their respective constituencies. Dimple Yadav, Mulayam Singh’s daughter-in-law, has adopted a village from her Kannauj constituency. BJP MP Rajendra Agrawal has adopted Bhagwanpur Chatawan village in Rajpura. BJP Rajya Sabha member Avinash Rai Khanna has adopted Adamwal village in Hoshiarpur district, which is also reputed to be a drug menace village.

Sonia, Rahul, Mulayam boycott SAGY

However, it is sad to note that for such a good scheme, the number of enthusiastic leaders is very few. As per official reports, only a few villages have been adopted so far. The report says that of the total 795 MPs (inclusive of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, and nominated MPs), so far only 125 MPs have submitted the names of villages for rural development. Some noteworthy names who have not adopted any village under SAGY so far are Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Mulayam Singh Yadav, among others. There is still a long way to go. Rural Development Minister Nitin Gadkari has issued a letter to Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha MPs requesting them to immediately finalise the village they want to adopt. For a noble cause like this, it’s time the politicians should forget their personal and party rivalry and meet challenges together for the betterment of the country as a whole.

During the launch of the programme, Modi had said, “If we have to build the nation, we have to start from the villages… if every MP transforms villages in his/her constituency into model villages, a large number of villages in the country would see holistic development“.

More Programmes Launched by Modi

Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Bima Yojana (PMJJBY)
Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bima Yojana (PMSBY)
Atal Pension Yojana
MUDRA Bank Yojana
Garib Kalyan Yojnaye 
Sukanya Samriddhi Yojana
Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao Scheme
Pahal Scheme
Jan Dhan Yojana